We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
20
40
19
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
40
19
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small river walking distance stayed here old town nice breakfast no lift bayreuth festival museum amenities noise festspielhaus opera tickets
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2018

I was a frequent host here, but stopped coming after noticing the slow decomposition of the venue. It is worn out, not always clean as it used to be and technically not to the standard in the location. Also, rooms facing the stream behind the hotel and the road are quite noisy.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the street you came from, not the other side.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlenaJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

It is many years (about 40!) since I stayed in a hotel in Germany and was pleased to find that little has changed in terms of the welcome and facilities...

The staff are delightful, all quite young and so helpful, and even better, after a couple of days they know who you are, what room you are in and so on, which saves a lot of time if you are having a few drinks at the bar.

I was staying there for a week as I was attending the Bayreuth Festival (four nights of The Ring!), so all of Bayreuth is quite busy and there was not a lot of choice in rooms at an ''affordable'' price. I will echo somebody else's comment about the lift, I only found out afterwards that there was a lift in the ''new'' block. But this didn't detract from my stay or my rating. If you are getting to and fro to the Festspielhaus then they organise a minibus (or two) to take you and bring you back.

While the Festival is on they seem to ignore their own hours for the restaurant which apparently closes quite early (like most of Bayreuth as it happens), but when you return from the opera the first thing they do is ask you if you want to eat!

The location on the edge of the Old Town is excellent with many of the sights within easy walking distance on mainly flat but cobbled streets. The front of the hotel is on a main street but generally there is not much traffic and indeed if you are staying at the front of the hotel like I was (my room was above the restaurant entrance) the main source of noise is actually suitcases on wheels, and this we can blame on the current trend of airlines offering free cabin baggage and running flights at all times of the day and night, and the fact that all these cabin bags have wheels on them, and the front courtyard is done with paving blocks..... So you get a clonk, clonk, clonk as the wheels run over the joins in the blocks.

They could do with putting down some outdoor carpet or ''astroturf'' to stop the noise, but I am not going to let that detract from my rating because you can avoid the problem by getting a room at the back.

Nice bathrooms, recently refurbed I would say, and accordingly the cleaning staff keep them up to scratch beautifully as they do the rest of the rooms and public areas.

Perhaps on their next upgrade they could consider a kettle and a small fridge in at least some of the rooms??

Breakfast I found was excellent, a good range of fresh breads and rolls with do it yourself toaster, plenty of selection of cereals, and of course bacon sausages and eggs although I would be inclined to avoid the fried eggs unless you see them carrying out a plate of fresh ones, but everywhere that puts friend eggs on a buffet has the same problem so I cannot knock them for that. There are boiled eggs as well anyway.

The restaurant menu is fairly standard, but the food is good and beautifully presented although you can probably eat a bit cheaper using one of the many restaurants in the general area.

Definitely on my list of places I would stay again, and recommend to friends.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the road.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitselakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The rooms are on the smaller side but nicely done, so is the bathroom with its ubiquituous small towels. The breakfast is below the usual German standard, but okay. Service could be friendlier but is effective. Good location in walking distance to the pedestrian zone.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This is a small, family-run hotel with charming atmosphere, different from standard modern hotels. Very friendly and helpful service, but the reception is closed from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. Large hotel parking for an extra 5 EU/night. Situated between green park and small river from one side and rather quiet street from the other side. Walking distance (5 minutes) to Wagner's Museum Villa Wahnfried, to the Young Artists Center and to the historical old town. Fantastic hotel restaurant - one the best steaks I ever had! There are two buildings: only one of them is equipped with a lift. Very nice area, no frills, but exceptional value for money. I will be happy to come back when the Markgrafin Opera House will open in 2018.

Room tip: ask for a room in the building with a lift
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Credit cards are accepted.
The hotel is located 15 mins walk from central station. There are two city buses to there, but i have not found tickets machine, and to be honest, during my walk there were no those buses, so it was quicker by feet anyway.
The hotel is atmospheric, but it is hard to call it quiet. Maybe the street view is quieter than opposite. The thing is, the opposite side is located over a stream, after that a road and a railway are located. I have to say, the stream was noisiest among three. Was OK for me, but can be embarassing for sensitive person.
The building is old traditional one, with no lift. Older people may find that inconvenient.
The restaurant was awarded for local cuisine, but do not expect something special for breakfast, even bavarian sausages - it is quite average. Remarkable is their selection of tea, however.
As you may see from my photos, amenities are few. I find absence of fridge especially inconvenient during hot days. I afraid there is no ice dispencer also.
Lohmühle is totally non-smoking venue. You have to go outside for every cigarette. However, there is covered area with ashtray adjacent to entrance, so you at least do not have to put your boots on and take umbrella in rainy morning.
All in all, i had good stay. Shouldn't i find a hotel with fridge and smoking room for comparable price, i will stay again

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank borysb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews