We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$139
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/06/21
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
160
51
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
51
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus neilson staff stunning hotel hot options walk in shower piste map continental options ski trip ski kit deluxe room location is ideal appointed rooms portion sizes welcome treat boot warmers plenty of storage space quiz night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

Standout things:
- best food we’ve had on a ski holiday. Varied a la carte menu. As a flexitarian it was ideal to have a good range of veggie options and equally all the meat options were amazing quality and ideal portions!
- Room a decent size for a ski resort and very comfortable, modern and clean!
- Spa is a fab treat at the end of of the day, always quiet too so never crowded and ideal before dinner to loosen up those muscles after a big ski!
- location is IDEAL skiing wise, couple minutes walk from the gondola up and in my opinion the best access to get to tignes or a larger ski area. We were initially worried about staying not in the centre of town but found we didn’t need to leave as the hotel was so good!
- the staff were completely amazing at making us feel welcome (Ella is absolutely fab, as is the rest of the bar/ restaurant team James, Sam, Peter and George) and looked after. If anything we found it easier to socialise with the staff than the rest of the guests who were a little quiet than our usual selves!

All in all cannot fault the hotel, if you’re looking for a chilled high quality ski holiday this is ideal. If you want something a little more lively/ later nights I’d stay further in central Val.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank heatherbrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at La Toviere.
Before booking, we considered a hotel in the centre of the village, but we are so glad we chose here. The location is perfect - right in front of either the La Daille lift (with the Folie Duce at the top!) or the Funival (which opens 15mins earlier than the lifts in the village). There are also free shuttle buses which run into the village each 5 minutes (or 10/20mins later on) which are super handy and we never waited more than 5mins for one. There is also a Spar & bakery a 2min walk away from the hotel which was useful!
The hotel itself is absolutely stunning - warm, cosy and somewhere you feel you can really switch off after a days skiing. The spa is very relaxing, we both had a massage on the last day which we recommend!
The food was the best we have had at a ski hotel - the evening meals were really good quality and afternoon tea was great after coming in from the slopes!
All of the staff were really welcoming & can't do enough for you - nothing was too much trouble.
All in all, a fantastic hotel which we couldn't recommend enough! We hope to visit again next year. Thank you for a great week!
Helen & Jason

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank helen7542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020 via mobile

A new flagship hotel for Neilson and it’s lovely. The style is modern but warm and cosy. The rooms are also great and well fitted out.

The food is tasty with a new set menu each night and good wines to match. Breakfast is your typical continental with a full cooked option and a special of the day to power you up and down the slopes.

The access to the ski area is very easy sand only a couple of minutes walk over the road for the funicular or gondola with very little queuing.

At the end of the day the spa is a welcome treat with a pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna plus nice seating. Again clean and modern in its style and certainly helps with the flagship mark.

Finally, the staff are warm, friendly and engaging and really are the star of the hotel.

I’d recommend it and will hopefully visit again next year!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Compass93528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

My husband and I have had Val D’ Isere on our bucket list for a while so when Neilson announced they were taking over hotel La Toviere we were quick to book, having been on many successful Neilson holidays, both winter and summer, over the past 10 years.
The hotel itself is in a great location with easy access to the ski slopes via 2 lifts opposite the hotel which tend to be quieter than in Val itself. Alternatively the bus stop to Val and La Fornet further up the valley, is a short walk away. Being at the end of the route meant you easily got a seat in the mornings.
The rooms in the hotel are smart, with plenty of storage space, tea & coffee making facilities, a mini bar, robes & slippers for use in the spa, and lovely complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. I couldn’t find a hairdryer in the room on the first morning however this was soon rectified and I was given a brand new one to use!
The staff throughout are friendly and professional and are what make Neilson holidays special. The atmosphere in the hotel is friendly with guests socialising in the bar and lounge areas.
The food is good quality with plenty of choice at breakfast, including a daily hot special of which I particularly liked the eggs benedict. Afternoon tea with freshly made cakes & biscuits was a nice treat on returning after a days skiing. For dinner there was a choice of 2 starters, 3 main courses which included a vegetarian option, and 2 puddings. However staff were more than happy to try and accommodate special requests where possible. The wine menu was good with a nice selection of local french wines as well as others, and prices were reasonable.
The boot room in the basement is well organised with a locker allocated per room, containing space for skis & poles, and boot warmers.
The pool & spa area is lovely and we used this most days after returning from the slopes.
So why only 4 stars?
Unfortunately we had an horrendous journey there and back. Initially our flight to Grenoble was delayed by 2 hrs. Ok, this happens, and we just “went with the flow”. On arrival at Grenoble all went well, cases arrived efficiently and we found our coach. The transfer time is advertised as 3 1/2 hrs and whilst we appreciate delays can occur we didn’t expect to end up being sat on a coach for 7hrs! The traffic was crawling along the road up the valley and we finally arrived at 1am. This was supposedly due to French school holidays. The Neilson staff, however, were excellent and provided a hot meal on arrival even though they had clearly had long days themselves. We discovered the following morning that many others had had even longer transfers meaning that there were queues at the ski hire shops as people hadn’t been able to collect equipment on the Saturday. We were initially told this was a “one off” situation, however it transpired that guests at Christmas had similar problems and had missed flights home due to the traffic. This meant Neilson were taking no chances and as a result we had a pickup time of 6.30am on our return journey, even though our flight wasn’t until 4.30pm. Again we had a long transfer taking 6hrs back to Grenoble, arriving at 1pm. The check in wasn’t yet open so we sat outside waiting - thankfully the weather was ok, otherwise there is very little space until you go through security. The flight was a little delayed on the way back but made up the time and arrived in Gatwick virtually on schedule - thankfully.
We appreciate the traffic cannot be controlled and it’s not Neilson’s fault. They did their best to look after the guests under the circumstances, however we feel others need to be aware of this potential problem as it’s the worst journey we’ve ever had on a ski holiday in 20yrs. (And the weather was fine!)
Maybe consideration needs to given to travelling on a different day, or using the train as an option.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Thank you to the whole Neilson’s team for looking after us!

From meeting at the airport to our return the Neilson’s team were super.

We stayed in a deluxe room on the 1st floor. The room has plenty of wardrobe and hanging space for ski kit, tea and coffee facilities, a mini bar, sofa, bath and walk in shower. The shampoo and shower gel smelt like being in a spa! The bed was lovely and comfy. We were worried as our room was next to the lift and stairs how we we didn’t need to. We didn’t hear a thing! The decor is as the pictures show which is pleasing and it looks great.

The hotel is close to a funicular and a cable car allowing easy access to ski to Tigne or through Val to the glacier. The location was brilliant for us. No need to worry about a bus getting up to the slopes was a 5 minute walk.

The facilities and service in the hotel were brilliant . We had an email prior to arrival asking if we had any special requirements to be taken into consideration.
On the first morning we had a super snow brief from Stephen , the hotel manager which set us up for the week.

Neilson’s offer free guided ski tours which we signed up for immediately! They were worth doing and took the planning out of were to go on the piste map.

They also offered a discount for treatments of you booked within your first couple of days.

The hotel has a lovely free spa to use after 2pm which has a hot tub, steam room, sauna, swimming pool and loungers which we used pretty much every day.

Between 4.30 and 5.30 daily they offer an afternoon tea with fresh cakes made each day which we went to a couple of times and really enjoyed. Tea and coffees are also available all day in the bar and lounge area of you wanted to relax at any time of the day.

We really enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at the hotel, drinks are very reasonably priced, food is of a good quality and service was always with a smile and ‘how was your day?’

If you have allergies or specialist food requirements the hotel have laid out a really simply labelling system to ensure you can avoid any food you don’t want.

Breakfast each morning had a continental option as well as hot options which were either porridge, a full English or breakfast of the day. This included omelette, avocado on toast, pancakes, French toast etc.

We joined a fun quiz night on the Wednesday which was all the more enjoyable when you win!

The hotel has a lovely relaxed feel with lots of guests making friends and sharing stories either over dinner or in the lounge/sofa area playing some board games.
We have never been to Val before and would come back again, the resort is great.

We have been on Neilson’s winter holidays before and I would say this is the best hotel and best experience we have had.

We have chosen our week next year to come back and will be booking as we home.

Some of the team who we would like to say thanks to for looking after us specifically are: Tara, Sam, Matthieu and Magalie.

See you next year!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank wattsjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews