We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Unwelcoming Place and defo not for families -Steer Clear”
Review of Queenie

Queenie
Ranked #1,594 of 2,140 Restaurants in Nice
Price range: US$18 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on the famous Promenade des Anglais the Queenie has been here since the late 1940's. Today it is a modern brasserie open from 9am for breakfast until 2am serving food non stop until late in the evening. Well known as a venue for sport with large screens for uninterrupted viewing of UK Premier League, Spanish and Italian football, Champion's League football, Formula One Grand Prix, top Tennis tournaments and Rugby Internationals. We were the first in Nice with free Wi-Fi and continue to supply free secure wi-fi access to all of our clients. Non stop music in the evenings from the Rock-Ola Jukebox with a great mix of music from the 1960's up until some of today's latest hits. Have a look inside by following this link
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Myself, husband and baby in pram popped in for food and drink for the Argentina v Croatia game.
We hadnt even got to our seats when the rudest man approached us whom I can only assume was the manager saying "No Babies"
I looked at him with a smile as I thought he was just joking around.
Alas he was not and again said "No babies as the football would be too loud!" No apology, no sorry nothing just as blunt as that.
Needless to say we were outta there like a shot.
With all due respect we as parents can judge whether a place is too loud for our child.
The funniest part is the place was empty and not surprised now reading some of the reviews on here.

3  Thank JanJohnIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceguyNice, Manager at Queenie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

The impression you have of rudeness may be associated with the way you barged in with a push chair as if you owned the place. We have had to implement a strict policy regarding babies in push chairs as sadly they, the babies, not the push chairs, tend to be noisy. Not their fault at all but 99% of the time the parents have no consideration for the rest of the customers in the restaurant and this causes problems. No matter how hard one has tried to explain this nothing changes so quite simply, no babies in push chairs during football matches. I should add that over the last few years the manners of parents with these chariots or tractors has changed completely. In general there is no thought given to anyone else. Sad but true.

Your manner also left a lot to be desired and for your information there was not a spare place anywhere for this and every other match we have shown.

I do hope you had a wonderful time in Nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We (couple) waited for 40 minutes after ordering an english breakfast. Nothing was served except orange juice and tea (which my wife did not drink because the cup was dirty). They simply did not even start to get the food ready after 40 minutes. We asked for the check for what we were actually served (Orange Juice and Tea) and they initially refused to accept it - they wanted us to pay for the stuff THEY DIDNT SERVE or wait until THEY decided when to start cooking it. The owners are clearly bad people, with bad intentions. We refused to pay for what we didnt get and they finally “decided” to accept payment. Never again, and we urge people to not step a foot into this sorry place.

Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceguyNice, Manager at Queenie, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

I do not remember how many times I have stated in the past that fair criticism is acceptable, however what I find totally unacceptable are lies and misleading information. You arrive in what is clearly a busy restaurant and expect to be served immediately, you then decide to make a scene and start to shout at the staff because you were not served quickly enough. People on nearby tables were appalled by your actions.
What right do you have, in the context of the situation to state "The owners are clearly bad people, with bad intentions"

Disgraceful, you should be ashamed of yourself and TA should be ashamed to allow your venemous statement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in for lunch and drinks during a wander along the promenade, were lucky as it was a late lunch so it was fairly quiet. The food was lovely - Sicilienne pizza and moules et frites - and the portion of mussels was huge so I was happy with that!
To be balanced however, there was really something missing from the customer service. The staff - two girls and a young man - looked bored and it was difficult to catch their attention. We waited a long time for a menu then had to ask, then waited some more, and after ordering drinks 3 times with 2 different staff, had to wait ages for those, resulting in me going up to the bar and just getting them and bringing them back to the table. To be fair the waiter offered to bring them over but we were dying for a drink as it was so hot, and we'd already waited about 15 mins.
After ordering food, we waited 45 mins and the waiter came over to tell us the kitchen had lost our order. Mistakes happen and he was polite and apologetic, and the food came soon after.
I've seen some of the manager's responses on here, and I'd really like to emphasise your food is great. However, please note some of your customers' comments as there are improvements to customer service that could easily be made. You're in a prime spot on the promenade and you serve good food. Your staff however just need to feel some enthusiasm for the place and its customers, and that would make it a really great place to lose hours eating and drinking. Several people were disgruntled and complaining while we were in there, so please take heed and don't be so aggressive and dismissive - remember you're taking people's money and with the right customer service people would come back, rather than running the risk of portraying the business as unfriendly and defensive on sites like these. Customers do understand the service ad restaurant industry as we're consuming it - please don't underestimate our perspective.

1  Thank frognat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

So we orderd a pizza and some chips. Pizza was pretty good and chips were ok. It was after we finished our meal that dissapointed. We sat with plates in front of us for 1 hour and could not order another drink. It looked like the tables to our left and right had the same problem. Was very under staffed and lost money as we would have had another 2 drinks each if we got served.

1  Thank Yamaharider93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We dropped in about 2pm for lunch. Shared a tropical salad which was both large and nice - maybe a little more dressing would be good. Also had fries and bread - ample for two. Great location and outlook. Thought coke was a bit expensive but it is what it is. Would go back.

Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceguyNice, Manager at Queenie, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you. Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queenie also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Queenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing