We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,675)
Filter reviews
2,675 results
Traveller rating
1,829
511
192
87
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,829
511
192
87
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews majestic barriere private beach sea view room service film festival star hotel red carpet french riviera large bathroom perfect location hotel guests fantastic hotel mini bar cote d'azur per day beach restaurant junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 2,675 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This is a big, very impressive hotel and is an excellent base for a holiday right on the Cannes beachfront. The rooms are well presented and all staff are very friendly and helpful - even to those of us not paying €30k a night for the top suite. Special mention must go to the chamber maids who clean up after guests both morning and evening, and also to Lionel who provides service with a smile in the pool area. We very much enjoyed our week at the hotel and would recommend it to those with deep enough pockets. On the downside, we were initially put in a well presented Superior room, but then suffered two sleepless nights due to the room abutting the guest lift and industrially noisy service elevator, which is indeed in-service circa 24/7. Alexandra on reception was very helpful, and she upgraded us to a Deluxe room to escape the crescendo; I have to say though the original room should not be offered to anyone other than the hard of hearing, and the same goes for the equivalent room on all of the other floors. Secondly, the heated pool wasn’t actually heated at all for the first three days of our stay; when this was remedied on day four the difference was astonishing! Be prepared to grab your sunbed early. Most people reserved the beds before breakfast which is annoying. Final gripe is that when we asked for a copy of our bill to-date on our final evening, we saw that a higher rate had been billed for our room than that booked via ebookers and was overpriced by circa €240. Fortunately, we had taken a copy of our ebookers booking with us which clearly showed the detailed daily room rate, so that really should have been that. However, it took a further few minutes of discussion before the bill was corrected. Despite these legitimate niggles, we can only say again that this is an excellent hotel and its broad, high quality portfolio of facilities is unrivalled by any of the other 5 star hotels in Cannes.

Room tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to lifts, especially the service lifts
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Janet H,
We are very grateful that you took some time to review your recent experience at the hotel Barrière Le Majestic Cannes. It is wonderful to know that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and we are delighted to personally congratulate our chamber maids, as well as Lionel and Alexandra. Thank you for highlighting their kindness and professionalism.
Concerning the room you were first given, I appologise again for the noise caused by the elevator. We appreciate your feedback about this issue, rest assured we are taking this into consideration for our future renovations.

We all hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes very soon.

Sincerely,
Pierre-Louis Renou
Directeur Général

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This hotel has a luxurious ambiance that is fitting for Cannes. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was beautifully fitted out and had the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. All toiletries were provided along with robe and slippers. The staff were helpful and friendly and the couple of minor issues (ie safe not working) were dealt with efficiently. The location of the hotel is perfect. The drinks are very expensive but that seems the norm for Cannes. If we return to Cannes we will definitely be choosing this hotel. You need to be aware that they request a deposit of 800 euro at check in which is refunded on check out and that you are asked to pay for city tax that was around 2 + euro per person per day.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rehcaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Rehcaet
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at the hotel Barrière Le Majestic Cannes.
As you point out, the Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes is a luxurious haven of peace, cozy and elegant, perfect to relax and rest.
I am very pleased to read that you slept wonderfully in your Junior Suite, and that our friendly and helpful teams made your stay even more enjoyable.

It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back for another fabulous stay!

Sincerely,
Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Very surprised this is part of the LHW chain of hotels, having stayed in hotels part of this chain, 4 in the last month alone, this hotel was incomparably poor. The hotel facilities are good, typical facilities, spacious rooms, but this is where the positives stop. (Reminds me a little of a corporate event/ airport hotel). Service was terrible, example: turned up at 12:45ish was told a room would be ready for 15:00, we went for lunch and came back after 15:00, still not ready. Which in a hotel of this size was surprising, eventually some time after they found us a different room.
You have to pay 45 Euro each to have a sun bed by the sea and the pool is full, there were 2 people per sun bed one day, (not all hotel guests) by the pool and the area is tiny. So the next day we did pay to be besides the sea the service was none existent, if you wanted a drink you needed to get up. There are lots of board boat activity works milling around on the pier around your lounger, washing their boats, playing music, providing a taxi service across the harbour, not the environment we'd hoped for.
Food is below average quality and overpriced, price examples salads 25+ , burger 36+ and club sandwich 26+ (Euros), I don't mind paying for good food, we ate in a Michelin star restaurant while on this holiday, 400+ but it was just expensive for the sake of it. It wasn't special, the ingredients weren't high quality, it was just expensive, the equivalent would cost you 1/3 and could be found less than 100meters away.
On this trip we also stayed in La Negressco part of the LHW chain in Nice, the hotel had better food, great service and character, same price, so it is possible in a large hotel in the area to provide what I expect at this price point, I recommend avoiding Le Majestic.
Final comment, cleaning equipment/trolleys were always in the hall until late at night with no cleaners present/ working, why? (Another illustration of the hotels lax attitude and inferior service)

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gbreeze22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Gbreeze22,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.
We were deeply disappointed to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations and that you felt the service was not up to the standards of a Leading Hotels of the World property. Your comments have been forwarded to the head of departments concerned for a thorough review and investigation to ensure that appropriate measures are taken. Please rest assured we take our Leading Hotels of the World membership very seriously, and that our teams strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We are sorry we weren't able to meet your expecations on this occasion. Should you wish to discuss in further detail what we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable, please contact my duty manager at the following email: dutymanager@cannesbarriere.com

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes and demonstrate the high standards of service we are better known for.

Sincerely,
Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Last August we stayed in the hotel and we were very pleased to wish you a good and heartfelt thanks to thibaut for the service and courteous attitude we received for the smile each morning and the courtesy thibaut Make sure we have a good and pleasant feeling and take care of all our needs straight from strength lilach and Amos Ron from Israel

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bariron7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Lilach an Amos Ron,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hotel Barrière Le Majestic Cannes.
I am delighted that the service was attentive and welcoming, and that the staff went above and beyond to cater to your every need throughout your stay, especially Thibaut. Your kind words have been shared and are the best reward for our teams.

We all look forward to welcoming you once again to the Hotel Barrière Le Majestic Cannes.

Sincerely,
Pierre-Louis Renou
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The Majestic is exceptional. A very special place that seems to grow on you the longer you stay. It's 5 star in every way, oozing quality, but it is the staff and thus the service that make a lasting impression; fresh faced, well groomed, friendly, superbly well-trained and professional in every way. Without an exception, some of the very best "attitudes" we have ever experienced. Special note of the excellent beach staff, they literally would sprint with attentiveness. Other hotels should spy and figure out how they mastered this level of excellence.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeslieHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre-Louis R, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear LeslieHP,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for posting your such nice comments about your experience at the Hotel Barrière Le Majestic Cannes. I am delighted that the service of our dedicated teams was attentive and welcoming, and that the staff went above and beyond to cater to your every need throughout your stay. Your kind words have been shared with our entire team and especially from our private beach. All of them are proud to have made your stay absolutely flawess. Reviews such as yours are truly are our best reward!

We cannot wait to welcome you once again to the Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes !

Sincerely,
Pierre-Louis Renou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews