We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but we found the menu limited especially for chlldren”
Review of L'Escargot

L'Escargot
Price range: US$18 - US$48
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is closed temporarily and will re-open the 10th of February 2017
Reviewed 10 September 2020

The food was good here and we felt excellent value. Platters and tapas dishes looked lovely and lots of that were being served to other diners. Chicken was off the menu for the children which left beef which our kids did not like. No other alternative was offered. You need to book but be clear if you want to be seated in the main restaurant otherwise you will be placed in their second venue which is round the corner. Its ok but not what we expected

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Shirley_md_memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2020

We went here for Valentines Day 2020 and it was perfect! Lovely atmosphere, not stuffy and the food and wine was wonderful! So good we actually came again the next night after walking around and nothing else really caught our eye, they kindly squeezed us in without a reservation so do book ahead if you can!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020 via mobile

Mong the feww open restaurants in town in winter. Me, my wife and our dog were warmly welcomed. Very friendly owner and atmosphere. Simple but tasty and qualitative menu. Wonderful fois gras and meat. Superb dessert! Thank you guys

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank sabaidee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

We booked here on Friday night, and had a great meal, staff were very friendly and accommodating and the atmosphere was perfect, a nice buzz around the place. We had the set menu and it was superb. The food was so good and reasonably priced that we went back the next night and they squeezed us in although we didn’t have a reservation. Highly recommend it as just a fantastic spot within the old town

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Got recommended by our B&B hostess but rather disappointed with the food.

The restaurant had a good vibe, menu was both in English and French and staff spoke good English. Service was good but food was average. Two of us shared 5 dishes - fig and mozzarella cheese was good, escargot was flavoursome but over cooked, razor claims bit chewy & beef skewer a bit tough.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Escargot also viewed

Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
 
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
 

Been to L'Escargot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.