We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and food ”
Review of Cafe de l'Homme

Cafe de l'Homme
Reserve with
Cafe de l'Homme is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,333 of 19,143 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trocadero
Description: Totally redesigned by the interior architecture partnership of Gilles & Boissier, the legendary Café de l'Homme has adopted all the distinctive trademarks of the 1930s Art Deco style that typifies the Palais de Chaillot. The natural stone and wood materials selected to create this unique decorative style evoke the fundamentals of our shared humanity to resonate with the Musée de l'Homme ethnography museum. Simultaneously original and traditional, the culinary style of the Café de l'Homme celebrates French regional produce and is passionately creative in exploring new fine dining trends from all around the world. The always-seasonal ingredients come from every region of France, and their traceability guarantees total quality control at every link in the supply chain.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

This is a very good café restaurant with great views of the Eiffel Tour. I would certainly recommend it

Thank Alejandro Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Community Manager at Cafe de l'Homme, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Alejandro Z,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valued opinion.
It is with great pleasure that we hope to see you again in our restaurant, for a new dining experience.

Best regards,
Café de l'Homme team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018

The view is great, but the restaurant is clearly overpriced, particularly given the bad service/bad attitude. They are not following the reservation rules and the staff could not care less about customers. They gave us a table in the back while there were empty tables in the front - one of these tables stayed empty for 1.5 hours after what should have been the deadline for a reservation to be cancelled because of no show. Although we asked if we could get the free table, they did not bother to explain why we cannot. It felt like a tourist trap- The staff clearly did not care that 5 customers were not happy. They know other customers will come just for the view! Another detail that may mater: The staff did not care that some customers smoked, which clearly is a problem for non-smokers, not to mention that they are breaking the law in this regard. To sum up, I felt we became

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank regnier2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Community Manager at Cafe de l'Homme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear regnier2018,

First of all I want to say sorry if you had such a bad impression from the behavior of our service. I just want to assure you that the experience you are sharing is not what we expect from our staff and we will of course make everything possible to work on this matter. we are truly sorry to read that your experience did not match your expectations.
We would be delighted to understand how we could be better during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Café de l'Homme team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Unbeatable views on the tour eiffel in the lovely terrace will make you come back to this trendy place. The food is good though overpriced, as you would expect, starters portions are ridiculously small (3 slices of tomato in the salad if the day were 22€). They took forever to bring the main courses even though we had 2 small children with us, and did nothing to show concern nor apologised. We’d been once before with no kids and service was better, maybe we were unlucky this time. Im willing to give then another chance, the atmosphere is great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Community Manager at Cafe de l'Homme, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Mariana C,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your valued opinion. The experience you are sharing is not what we expect from our staff and we will of course make everything possible to work on this matter.
We would be happy to welcome you back for a better experience.

Best regards,
Café de l'Homme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I have visited Paris many times, but this was my first time at Cafe de l'Homme.
View is really amazing, so was our food.. however the service could've been better.
We waited quite long to even get water. Our waiter apologized and said he was just tired and over it, because he had a long week. Don't think that it's something you should be telling your guests.

Our lunch was great because of the delicious food and beautiful view, it would've been amazing if the service was better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Community Manager at Cafe de l'Homme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear EmFama,

I just want to assure you that the experience you are sharing is not what we expect from our staff and we will of course make everything possible to work on this matter !

Thank you for taking the time to post your dining experience at Café de l'Homme. It is with great pleasure that we hope to see you again in our restaurant, for a new dining experience.

Best regards,
Café de l'Homme team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

It was hot this past weekend so the tendency is to find a great outdoor cafe. As I was staying in the 16th, this was a perfect place to chill for the afternoon. We were there for 4 hours not because the service was bad because they catered to us very well. We just enjoyed sipping cocktails in the sun and enjoying our meal. My steak tartar was fantastic even though it came mixed up already. My friends who live in Paris have never been so it was a great treat for all of us. Best to be enjoyed in fine weather. Oh and the view couldn't be beat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Community Manager at Cafe de l'Homme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear karkez,

We are enchanted to read that you had a great time among us, and that you enjoyed the place, the service and the cuisine.

We would be happy to welcome you back for another great experience.

Best regards,
Café de l'Homme team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de l'Homme also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe de l'Homme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing