We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb ambienc of the Montmartre region of Paris.”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #312 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

The Chat Noir decor and art set this hotel apart from all others. Easy access to Montmartre shopping, entertainment, sight-seeing, dinners and bars. Metro access a few steps away to explore the rest of Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chrisevans1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Everything has been said ;-) We wish you a fantastic weekend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We liked this hotel for the location, as my sister-in-law lived about 15 minutes away. We knew it was in the "red light" district so we expected the stores and other establishments so we weren't surprised. Room was good, small but all you need is a bed & bathroom. Loved the shower!!! The AC wasn't turned on so we had to leave the window open, which was fine. The bar under the hotel had live music Friday & Saturday night until 2am so we didn't get much sleep those nights, no big deal. Our only complaint....we had no idea that the breakfast was not included in our room rate. Most of us really just grabbed a cup of coffee and went about our day. Found out upon check-out it was 15 euros per person per day! We were not happy and managed to negotiate it to a bit lower. Either way...don't bother with the breakfast, it wasn't good. Go to one of the corners down the street and get a fresh crepe for 2-5 euros. Other than that, we would definitely stay there again, just avoid the breakfast! Which was a shame because the coffee is really good, just not worth 15 euros. We went to the bar downstairs pretty much every evening and they were really nice! Good drinks and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sfcapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good afternoon,
we are really sorry of what happened with our breakfast buffet. You had a "room only" rate and were supposed to charge the full price breakfast even if you take only a cup of coffee (we can't check this for every guest). I am really sorry for this misunderstanding and i understand your disappointment. I renew my apologies and hope we will have the chance to welcome you back. Thank you for the time you took to give us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We have been charged more than we were supposed to and nobody could tell us why. We had such a rude treatment at check out that I really think this hotel should be classified as a 1 star hotel, not 4.
Unbelievable. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Good afternoon,

i already have explanations with you by emails about that exceptional case. I renew my apologies but want to tell that you explained me as well that your entire stay was perfect until your check out and the issue with your airport transportation. We also offer you the rose petals set up we have done for you on your bed. I am a bit surprised that you did not mention it in your review. I wish you an excellent day. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Stayed at le chat noir hotel for a long weekend break. Staff very friendly, àttentive and obliging. Room was cosy and clean on the 5th foor overlooking the boulevard de Clichy. A two minute walk to the moulin rouge for our dinner and show -a must if you visit Paris. The hotel is ideally situated for walking to the historic attractions in Paris and even though central within the red light district provides a safe and secure place to stay. A thoroughly enjoyable break and will stay again on our next weekend break. Thank you to the staff

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you very much for this review. We share it with all our staff. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back. Have a fantastic day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is situated in Blanche metro station about 100 meters walk. Nearby a lot of sex shop which not good for family stay. The people will invite you to watch sex dance show especially you are alone. The room is average, no refrigerator, quite dusty & the wall is too thin. Even you can hear next door sound.

However the woman in reception is great & helpful. We appreciate her to give us early check in & give us the gift for special events.

Besides my wife lost her belongings in guest room after check out. We special thanks the manager try his best to look for the things to my wife.

Overall we like the staffs attitude more than the facilities of this hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ETNN9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le ChatNOIR H, Responsable relations clients at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Good afternoon,
Thank you for this review.
I hope you had a safe and smooth way back.
Have a wonderful day.
Warm regards,
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#909 of 1,805 in Paris
275 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,805 in Paris
966 reviews
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#85 of 1,805 in Paris
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#492 of 1,805 in Paris
883 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: HK$884 - HK$1,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing