We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.comUS$101
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
298
174
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
298
174
12
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2019

The Hotel Vauban (and Besancon itself) were a wonderful surprise. The very genial owner runs not only a very nice hotel but also two restaurants in the same building. The location is terrific on a walking mall right on the river and the area is close to everything of note. Besancon itself is a beautiful city and a visit to the breathtaking citadel is a must. The views from the ramparts will take your breath away.

Close to the hotel is the easily accessible underground lot Parking Pasteur if you are travelling by car and everything is readily accessible by walking or the excellent transit system.

Our room was very comfortable and and faced a lovely square. The price is very reasonable for the quality of the hotel and the owner is a great asset. Our stay was a very satisfying one and I highly recommend the both the hotel and the lovely city

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

OK, so everyone sees what a great location it’s in and that’s absolutely true, on the Place de la Revolution.
They also say with great value for money it is, and that is also true.
But they didn’t say is that the parking is 200 m away from the hotel, one park house at either end of Vauban Quai, and you must go straight to the park place and walk to the hotel because it is completely in a pedestrian area, which is absolutely fantastic because the whole old town and all the signs are within easy walking distance.
The French local cooking restaurant at the hotel, sitting in the open square competed well with anything around and we didn’t get to try their Italian restaurant.
I have to highly commend the manager, Maurice, who not only received us with his natural charm and humor, but went out of his way to help us with a car rental problem, tracking down the agent in Geneva airport, and solving our problem by insisting and being very assertive with them even though it took multiple phone calls, he didn’t give up. Thanks Maurice , you made our stay memorable.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank David-RamatHasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle l, Gérant at Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear David,

We appreciate a lot your comment
We always get efforts to satisfy ours guests. We can't imagine to leave you with your problem.
It is true that access to the hotel might be not esay for who dont't know the city.
And the GPS is not helpfull due to not upgrade, that is the reason that we invite the guest to get a map on our website

See you soon

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

I have previously stayed in the Hotel de France (much more expensive), and Hotel du Nord (great character, but more expensive, no air-conditioning, some rooms can be noisy), but from now on this is my place. Just read my title. Everything in walking distance for amazing low price.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Right in the city centre between the river and a charming square, we received a very warm welcome from the very helpful owner who even lent us guide books to help us enjoy our stay. Our room was roomy with a nice bathroom and a lovely view over the busy square. Parking was in an underground car park, but quite close by. Breakfast was a normal type Continental breakfast which I thought was a little overpriced.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnglandJay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

This is a great place, perfect location, and still quiet and peaceful. The rooms are very smartly setup so it does not feel cramped and all essentials are there. Have stayed here 3 times already and would not hesitate to do so again.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle l, Gérant at Hotel Vauban, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Clientt

Thanks so much for your comment.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews