We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveller rating
762
445
81
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
445
81
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town intra muros within the walls fabulous stay walled city modern decor foot passengers public parking four star hotel air con excellent hotel car park buffet breakfast comfortable hotel up to date street noise
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

A superb location inside the city walls with easy access to very close-by public parking. Always an issue for central locations in old cities is the size of rooms, and ours was indeed very small and somewhat awkward. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. We chose the breakfast buffet which was varied and pleasing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark-CynthiaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie P, Gérant at La Maison des Armateurs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

A very good hotel in a great location in the center of saint Malo, in the historic center. It is important that it has parking. The staff polite and the rooms clean. Τhe breakfast was very good but the most important thing was that it had products from local producers.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie P, Gérant at La Maison des Armateurs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

We are glad you noticed our local products on the breakfast buffet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

I'm happy to find this charming hotel. Staying in the 'intramuros' is a huge plus. There are plenty of shops and restaurants and most of all, you can go back to the wall and the sea whenever you want. In the morning or in the evening, the area becomes quiet as if you own the city. As for the hotel itself, my room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was attentive. The only drawback was that Wifi was hardly available in my room. I had to be close to the corridor to get the signal.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 성경 조
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie P, Gérant at La Maison des Armateurs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018


Unfortunatly,wifi is very weak everywhere in the old city and will remain so until the arrival of optical fiber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Pro:

Good location.
Very friendly reception by trainee (stagiair).
Friendly night porter who also tended the bar.
Nice bedroom with good mattresses .

Con:

Breakfast was very chaotic, we had to wait 15 minutes for the coffee (coffee machine broke?) the scrambled eggs and sausages were cold (réchaud broke? heated with a tea light), three staff who ran around a bit stressed, they ran out of the tarte Normande they ran out of bacon (an hour before the end of breakfast.

WiFi was very slow.

At check in they showed the air conditioning and how it worked. We woke up around 5:30 am because the room was very hot. I tried to turn the AC on but it did not work. I opened the windows but there was a lot of noise coming from the streets. After all we slept bad and that is not what I expected at a 4 star hotel. I mentioned this at the reception at checkout and she just told us that the AC was set to heating (unlike what they told us at check in). No excuses were made and my complaint was not taken seriously.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie P, Gérant at La Maison des Armateurs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Unfortunalely, buffet breakfast is not always as smooth as it should be especially when every one arrives at the same time in the morning

The hotel is equiped with either HEAT OR AC. This past weeks the wind was exceptionaly cold for the season
( 5 to 10 °) in the morning.
It is the truth that when heat is turned on the AC cannot be set.
However the heat can be turned off.
Opening the Windows for a short time would keep the room cool without the need of AC at this periode
For information the temperature in the area rearly goes over 25°.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel offers exceptional value for its central location in st malo. The rooms are well appointed very comfortable beds and great showers. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly. Breakfast is also good value.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie P, Gérant at La Maison des Armateurs, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

thank you , we hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews