We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude member of staff and poor booking system. Food nice.”

The Haxey Gate Inn Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 675 Restaurants in Doncaster
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Have been for Sunday lunch for the previous two Sunday's. The last time I booked by Facebook, to get there and find us not booked in but made room for us.
Fast forward to today, Had booked for four as our son was staying who we'd not seen for two years. Food was excellent as ever but they were short staffed.
We waited ages for our plates to be cleared and desert menu to be brought, was fine as we were not in a rush, but waited and waited. In the end my husband went to the bar and ordered.
We had hadn't finished our deserts when a large group came in and said they had booked previous day but it hadn't been put down in their diary.
A waitress was then busy finding whatever tables she could to put together then had the cheek to turn around to us and say we had pinched their table. How dare she, we had booked and was still eating.
The lady of the large party went in to complain at what the waitress had said.
The manager came out and said to us that she was sorry that we had been spoken to like that but we were over our 2hr allocated slot and short staffed. Hold on, not our fault, you had very slow service. So instead of the waitress blaming customers I think they need to redress the booking system and staff issue.
I've worked in hospitality myself so know all the ins and outs.
What turned into a nice meal out with our son and daughter in law turned into an embarrassing situation.
It has totally put us off returning.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank 352reaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2022

Came for Sunday dinner and while there was nothing to complain about it wouldnt be on my list to come back to again. Place is starting to look a bit dated and while the food is nothing to complain about its not great either.

If you need a local cheap Sunday dinner then its worth it but there is better nearby.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank EnglishDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

Well what can I say have been going here for years and never had a bad meal until tonight.
Starters were all out of the freezer into the fryer, definitely bought in.
Pie was amazing and full of meat but chips castles under done and hard and like warm, onion rings overly greasy.
Had a ribeye steak meat was ok but not a lot of flavour. Plate was swimming in grease from the deep fried mushrooms, never understood why a mushroom absorbent like a sponge is deep fried. Mediocre at best. Skipped desert. Vastly disappointed as this is one of my favourite old school pubs.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank espressomartini1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Perfect location, fantastic people. The food is lovely and the servers clearly care. Must not miss if you're in the area, worth a visit even if you're not.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 January 2022

Visited on a few occasions as we stayed on the campsite opposite.
Staff very welcoming and helpful. Good excellent, proper home cooked meals, fantastic value for money. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed The Haxey Gate Inn Restaurant also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
West Stockwith, Nottinghamshire
West Stockwith, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Haxey Gate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.