We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit.

A lovely and interesting building, full of history , and some great architecture on the outside and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
malc1005
,
Kettering, United Kingdom
Very interesting

This combines samples of Gillows furniture with a toy museum (with lots of dolls houses) and the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
A4440KNjuliem
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 126 reviews
  
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
81
31
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
31
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor childhood museum dolls houses local furniture well worth a visit interesting building old building entrance fee waring schoolroom information manufactured castle insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

A lot of history here with details on show. Many pieces of furniture adorn the building as well as other artefacts. Have to use public car parks as there are non outside. The staff were knowledgeable on its history etc

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Derrick F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2021

The museum has lovely examples of historic rooms. It also has some nice judicial cases such as the Pendle witches cases. Well worth a visit, really friendly staff who answer questions.

Date of experience: July 2021
1  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2021

Visited the Judges Lodgings on Sunday. Really impressed. Very informative and some amazing artifacts to look at. We go to a lot of Museums all around the country and just happened to see the Judges Lodgings as we were walking around Lancaster, so thought we would give it a try. Really glad we did, it really is a little jewel. The entrance price of £3 is far too cheap. We usually expect to pay at least £6-£7 for something similar. £3 really well spent. Many thanks for a lovely day.

Date of experience: June 2021
1  Thank L871DJpatricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMuseums, Manager at Judges' Lodgings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Many thanks for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Fantastic place. We all enjoyed our visit. The staff were really helpful and offered lots of background information. 8 yr old enjoyed the quiz as he went round. Especially liked the games in the garden. (Nice weather!). Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank cwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMuseums, Manager at Judges' Lodgings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

A lovely review - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

We visited with our two children and they absolutely loved it. Staff are knowledgable and lovely and Judges Lodgings is a real interesting space to visit. The gardens are incredible! It’s a like a secret garden - totally unexpected. The children enjoyed playing croquet and then watering the flowers - a perfect end to our visit on such a hot summers day. The child pack with activities provided on arrival was a really nice touch as was the child carrier seat. It’s very clear that a lot of thought and care has been put into making visits as fun and as easy as possible tor families. The new breastfeeding room is a marvellous addition. Judges Lodgings is a wonderful example of how inclusive and welcoming museums/historic buildings can be. Thank you so much.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Happy5561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMuseums, Manager at Judges' Lodgings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you so much for this fabulous feedback. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews