We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
154
54
19
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
54
19
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house kent showground cooked breakfast full english a quiet country lane b and b dual carriageway breakfast room on arrival south of england cold meats double bed handy location free wifi stayed for one night excellent location short drive
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

It’s quite a distance from the village and very difficult and dangerous trying to turn right on the main road when leaving the hotel. The room was quite dark with 2 small windows and poor lighting. There was not much room to get around the bed. The bed has an inch thick foam layer over the mattress which I don’t like. Just one hard chair so you have to sit on the bed. Very, very small TV. Wifi but no phone signal. Cheap biscuits and no tissues. Large refurbished ensuite shower room. Breakfast is not available until 7:30. At breakfast the fruit looked a bit sad and there was no hot tea just warm water from a jug. The bacon was dry and over cooked. The toaster didn’t toast. The host had me down as staying for 2 nights but I’d just booked for 1 night through booking.com. The owner only spoke a few words to me and I didn’t feel very welcome and wasn’t told that I could use the garden. The room descriptions on booking.com mention fan, fridge and microwave but I had none of those.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Everybody has their own tastes. Some like a firm bed, some like a soft bed. Some like crispy bacon, some like it soft, too dark, too light and the list goes on! This lady needed more attention than normal. The Eco toaster does work but only if all four slots for the bread are used otherwise the two slots will work so it does not waste energy. We do use quality biscuits. The jug contains hot water, especially first thing in the morning! Having you down for two nights was our mistake for which we apologize, however, the chairs and tables in the garden are for our guests to use at their own convneince. The amenities are all available upon request. Hope this clarifies the points you made. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Only a one night business trip stay but well worth it.
I was made to feel very welcome, and the accommodation and garden were very pleasant.
The room was clean, well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, and had an excellent en-suite.
The bed was comfy and provided a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was excellent - some of the best sausage and bacon I have had.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on Sunday night and were thrilled with what we found. We pulled up to a wonderful coachhouse (very easy to find) overlooking a stunning garden. We were quickly greeted by the friendly host who gave us all the information we needed and showed us to our room leaving us to enjoy the evening as we wished. The room itself was impeccable; clean and tidy with all the extras you might need (including a very good fan which was great on a warm night!). The garden has several little seating areas surrounding the large pond which we sat at for a long time, it's easy to lose track of time watching the sun set here! A great night's sleep on a super comfortable bed. Only tiny thing was I could have done with an extra pillow or a few cushions but I have no doubt had I asked these would have been provided speedily! Breakfast was cooked to order and we had our pick from everything you could want as well as cereals and toasts and pastries etc. We set off feeling full up, relaxed and sad to be leaving! We will definitely be back and very soon. Thank you for having us.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Attending an event at the Kent Showground and decided to stay over. Lovely place just outside one of the gates to the ground. Beautiful grounds and a fabulous breakfast. Rooms clean and bright with all the facilities you would want

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Fabulous little B&B just a few minutes walk to the Kent Showground. The rooms were lovely and clean. We were meeting friends their so the owner offered us the use of the breakfast room for our own snacks and drinks before we went. What a wonderful generous offer. We had a great time. The garden is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Debseedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews