We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal and service”
Review of The Tan Yard

The Tan Yard
Ranked #3 of 166 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
Description: The Tan Yard in Killarney offers a casual, high quality dining experience in an interior setting inspired by the historical tan yards of Killarney, where hides of livestock where tanned to produce leather. The Tan Yard menu features delicious steaks and burgers from the grill, fresh fish, salads and our 'favourites', all served from 5pm - 9.30pm from Monday to Sunday. Children's menu available.
Restaurant details
Description: The Tan Yard in Killarney offers a casual, high quality dining experience in an interior setting inspired by the historical tan yards of Killarney, where hides of livestock where tanned to produce leather. The Tan Yard menu features delicious steaks and burgers from the grill, fresh fish, salads and our 'favourites', all served from 5pm - 9.30pm from Monday to Sunday. Children's menu available.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our 1st year wedding anniversary here in the tan yard. The service by all staff was excellent. Food was fantastic. And the cocktails were just fab.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 742eimearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODR M, Restaurant Manager at The Tan Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 742eimearb,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Tan Yard.

Its great to see your kind words on our service, food and cocktail offering. The kitchen, service and bar team will be thrilled to see this.

We thank you for choosing to dine with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Tom Murphy
Restaurant Manager of The Tan Yard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished a fabulous meal I. The Tan Yard. It was our daughters 13th birthday and they really looked after her. Angelo was a super star from the moment we arrived. He really made our daughter feel so special. The food was excellent and the cocktails even better

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank colmbeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODR M, Restaurant Manager at The Tan Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear colmberine,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your experience here with us at The Tan Yard.

Angelo will be thrilled to see how he helped make Clodaghs special day a memorable one and it is brilliant to see how our food and beverage offering added to the birthday celebrations.

We thank you for choosing to celebrate with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tom Murphy
Restaurant Manager of The Tan Yard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a gorgeous meal here this evening with my husband and children (6&10) the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Food was amazing I had the fish dish, the nicest meal I have had in years. It was our daughters bday the staff all came over and sang happy birthday and had a bday plate done for her.
This is the last day of our holiday and youv helped us finish it on a high

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lindamcd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODR M, Restaurant Manager at The Tan Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lindamcd2013,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

It is fantastic to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Tan Yard. We are delighted to have been able to help in making your holiday an enjoyable one.

Our culinary team take great pride in sourcing only the freshest and most local of ingredients, Chef Will will be thrilled to hear your comments on his dishes and in particular the fish one.

We thank you for choosing to dine with us to celebrate the special occasion and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Tom Murphy
Restaurant Manager of The Tan Yard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, beautiful restaurant and amazing staff. Very professionally ran. The staff are unbelievably friendly, Heidi, in particular, who served us. There’s a great atmosphere in the restaurant and it was quite reasonable for the service and quality of the food. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank GHan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODR M, Restaurant Manager at The Tan Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GHan44,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

We are flattered to read your comments about our team and to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Tan Yard. Our team live and breath our craft and love to create a truly unique ambiance in The Tan Yard.

Heidi will be delighted to see how she helped in making your experience with us here an enjoyable one.

We thank you for choosing to dine with us and look forward to having you return.

Warm regards,

Tom Murphy
Restaurant Manager of The Tan Yard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Heidi was our waitress and she was amazing. She really made our experience fantastic and I’ll be recommending this restaurant and hotel to all my friends and family because of how great Heidi made our experience. Thank you again :)

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank seanbB1014MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODR M, Restaurant Manager at The Tan Yard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear seanbB1014MH,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

Its fantastic to see how much you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Tan Yard.

Heidi will be thrilled to read your review, we aim to create a truly personalized dining experience for each guest and it's truly wonderful to see how Heidi has done this for you.

We thank you for choosing to dine with us and look forward to welcoming you and your friends to The Tan Yard in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tom Murphy
Restaurant Manager of The Tan Yard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tan Yard also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Tan Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.