We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”

Irish Whiskey Museum
Ranked #14 of 588 things to do in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the Irish Whiskey Museum, the first Irish whiskey museum in the world! The museum depicts the origins of Irish whiskey, its rise to glory, the dramatic fall, and of course, current revival of new Irish whiskeys. With an exclusive collection of Irish whiskey memorabilia dating back to the 1800s, blended with a modern twist, this is one memory you are sure to enjoy! Opening Hours: 10:00 am - 19:00 pm First Tour: 10:30 am Last Tour: 19:00 pm. Whiskey and Brunch Experience at 10am on Friday to Sunday.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Highly recommend this tour and tasting! Our tour guide Grace was fantastic, full of interesting history given with enthusiasm and a great sense of humour. Don’t miss the Irish Whiskey Museum when visiting Dublin.

Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed the tour and hope you had a great time here in Dublin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"premium tour"
in 267 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 110 reviews
"blending experience"
in 98 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 362 reviews
"great tour"
in 266 reviews
"jameson tour"
in 46 reviews
"tasting session"
in 44 reviews
"trinity college"
in 157 reviews
"great visit"
in 40 reviews
"visiting dublin"
in 43 reviews
"fionn"
in 117 reviews
"history"
in 1,266 reviews
"ireland"
in 465 reviews
"distilleries"
in 78 reviews
"owen"
in 47 reviews
"scotch"
in 59 reviews
"knowledge"
in 151 reviews
Filter

853 - 857 of 6,249 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018

The experience works through a series of themed rooms with interactive media, as your guide (Grace, on our visit, who was fantastic and perfectly managed a very large group) outlines the history of the spirit before ending with a tasting. The premium upgrade is a good value, and offers an excuse to savour a little longer.

Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much for the five star review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the tour and will be sure to pass your kind feedback on to Grace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

My family just went on our first trip to Dublin, and this is one of the first places we went to. We had booked in advance, and showed up about 5 minutes before our booking. Check-in was super smooth, and our tour started exactly on time, and our guide, Shannon led us into the first room.

Shannon was not actually from Ireland, she was from California, and she said she was working on her master's degree in the city. This seemed a little disappointing at first, but she completely made up for it with her engaging tour of the museum! She was very knowledgeable and kept things at a quick, but not rushed pace. She did the thing only the best educators know how to do, which is to ask the audience what they already know about whiskey, allowing them to put together most of the details on their own, while filling in the gaps with her knowledge. Truly, an enjoyable tour :)

When we got to the tasting rooms our whiskeys were already set up for us in glasses, and we were led through the tasting experience. Our family did the regular experience as opposed to the premium, worried that we would be overpaying for something rather unspecial. In retrospect, I would have done the premium, which gets you one extra whiskey taste, and a souvenir glass, it would be worth every bit of the added €4. That being said, the regular experience still got us three tastes of excellent Irish whiskeys. I think one of the best things about this experience is it does not push a brand, and really allows you to experience a wide range of whiskeys and really decide which ones you like.

After the tasting, everyone cleared out, but my family was working on finding our next destination, and the staff was kind enough to let us hang out in the space for the next couple of minutes, even letting us sip on a few of the left overs. Overall, it is one of my fondest memories of the trip, and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

1  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much for such a kind and detailed review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the tour and will be sure to pass your kind words on to our excellent guide, Shannon. We hope the rest of your stay in Ireland was just as enjoyable and that you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Our tour guide Shannon (you rock!) was a great host.
We got to know everything we need to know about Uisce Beatha (Whiskey) in a very good ans funny way!
The tasting at the end was real fun and informative!!!
Thanks again

1  Thank Carramba89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you very much for the five star review. Shannon is an excellent guide and will be delighted to hear you enjoyed the tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Tour starts at 10am. Our guide was Aaron (from the pic on TripAdvisor & their brochure!). He was informative and witty in explaining the history of Irish whiskey making and today’s blends. Sampled 3 different types of whiskey - each with very different characteristics. Tour takes approx. 1hr 15mins. Good to have the brunch following to soak up the morning samples Enjoyed.

Thank Barb_fam_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishWhiskeyMuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Irish Whiskey Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you very much for the five star review. Aaron is an excellent guide and will be so glad to hear you enjoyed his tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish Whiskey Museum also viewed

 

Been to Irish Whiskey Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing