We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveller rating
954
956
266
84
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
956
266
84
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree walking tourfree breakfastbed dormpub crawlcommon roombus stationcommon areasprivate bathroomkey cardenjoyed my staytemple barrooms are cleancity centrenice stayo'connell streetbedscurtains
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I stayed here with a friend as we we're attending a lecture at Our Ladies Hospice. Staff we're really helpful and buzzing with energy on the Friday night shift and full of great recommendations. The room was spacious and the bathroom had a nice big shower and bathroom facilities. However on the second night the toiler could not flush. Beds were comfy with privacy from curtains and all charging points available, as well as own private light. Great free breakfast. Overall joyful stay.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs as the firedog and suitcase cages can be quite loud
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TannyPanache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Hostel is bigger now, with greater breakfast area compared to last stay. Breakfast is basic but OK, including eggs. The hostel is located very central, also you have pub crawl and walking tour from here, what I did both. They have a roof with smoking area. My room had safe included.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Ok hostel, great service in the front desk. Horrible breakfast! And also not quite like pictures. Also, they have horrible bed sheets. And a bit dissapointing that they "close" off at night by 11, but then again not really a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

- Dishonnest management
- We made a mistake booking a room for 6 not paying attention that it was non refundable, 3 months in advance
- A few hours later we asked for cancellation of the booking
- We phoned and wrote to the hostel, the manager repeatedly refused to cancel the booking
- We contacted booking.com which contacted them twice to ask to cancel. We proposed to pay indemnification fees, which was refused.
- Our only mistake is not to have considered the mention "non refundable".
- On this hostel website, the normal fee is 165 €/night (55% less!) and their general sales conditions mention a booking can be canceled 72h in advance
- Don't go there, these are thieves.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_KSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osgur Ó, General Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Frank,

Thank you for your feedback.

A non-refundable rate is a reduced rate with a non-refundable condition. This is standard practice across many service. By our own admission you did not pay attention to this clause. We refute any suggestion of dishonesty on our part. We regret that your misunderstanding has resulted in this experience.

Is mise le meas

Osgur Ó Ciardha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

In the heart of the city.
Probably not for weekends when the stag and hen parties are in town.
I stayed Sunday and Monday nights.
Fantastic staff. All very helpful.
A broad selection of nationalities stay here and a broad range of ages.
Loved it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews