We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met A Man In The Park.....”
Review of Matt The Thresher

Matt The Thresher
Ranked #93 of 2,830 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$53
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Matt the Thresher is an award winning family owned Seafood Bar and Restaurant, specialising in fresh wild Irish Seafood. We are located in the heart of Georgian Dublin in the city centre not far from St Stephen Green. We are opened 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended, you can book on line or email/phone Brid and she will be only be delighted to look after your requirements.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We had arrived in Dublin and looking for a restaurant that we had booked prior to our trip and while walking through Merrion Park, we met a man who appeared to know the area and asked for directions. The first thing he did was to tell us the restaurant we had chosen was wonderful but there was another, close by that he could more highly recommend....enter Matt The Thresher.

When we arrived at the restaurant we were warmly greeted and immediately seated in a quiet area on the lower level. The menu offers a great variety of fresh seafood and since we were in Ireland we asked our server, who was great, for his suggestion and it was, of course, Fish and Chips! Great meal, great service, and a quality establishment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Manager at Matt The Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hi Ed W,

Thanks for sharing this lovely review! We thoroughly enjoyed the story that led you to our restaurant and we're delighted you enjoyed dining with us! We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Dublin!

Kind regards,
Matt the Thresher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Incredibly fresh and tasty seafood. The oysters are absolutely perfect - try the sort of oriental variation of the usual shallots/vinegar sauce! The best scampi we have ever had and service and not far behind.

We came here for lunch and returned the following day having not made plans and knowing we wouldn’t find anywhere better! The best meal we had in Dublin.

We will 100% be back again.

Thank Mr_Luvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Manager at Matt The Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Mr_Luvly,

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are delighted you have been part of your visit to Dublin on no less than 2 occasions!

It’s great to know how much you enjoyed your dishes and that our scampi is the best you’ve had!

We hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,
Matt the Thresher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Relying on excellent reviews, we booked a reservation in advance for a Thursday night in May. Glad we did; reservation cheerfully honored, but the place was full during our nicely paced meal. Great seafood: oysters, smoked salmon salad; shellfish "pot" at nearby table looked like a missed opportunity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MandR818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Manager at Matt The Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi MandR818,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review! We’re glad you joined us and enjoyed dining with us! Hopefully you’ll return to us soon and give our pot of mussels a try!

Kind regards,
Matt the Thresher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a meal with business colleagues recently in Matt the Tresher. We were seated upstairs and the welcome on arrival and service by our waiter was top class. Any requests were handled efficiently , from a wobbly table to A/C power down.

Having a seafood starter of salt and pepper squid rings to Sole for main course I could not have been happier with my choice, indeed my colleague who has mussels for main course was served a huge bowl .

Great ambience , food & service . Will return on my next visit to this area .

Thank DennisM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Manager at Matt The Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi DennisM_11,

Thank you for reviewing us! We really enjoyed reading your lovely feedback and are delighted to know you felt completely catered to on the night.

It sounds like you made some wonderful choices for your dishes and we’re glad you enjoyed each one!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Matt The Thresher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

I had known of this restaurant because the food writer Antony Bourdain had reviewed here for his TV show. We booked ahead on the day and found the restaurant very busy for a Tuesday night but it had a great atmosphere. I went for the seashell pot as I wanted the variety of sea food. My husband had the fish and chips. Both meals very very good but the seafood pot was spectacular. It had been steamed to perfection so all the fish was cooked just right with chorizo and tomato’s. The only thing it could of done with more of is extra bread for collecting the sauce at the bottom because it was so tasty but this can be ordered on the side I guess. We finished with a cheese board which was very good also. The service was fine- they were obviously very busy and we were in no rush so that was fine but I would be careful if you were short on time. All together very good meal!!

Thank sapph09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Manager at Matt The Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi sapph09,

Thank you for reviewing us! We’re delighted you joined us on Antony Bourdains recommendation, we admire him a lot and were very sorry to hear of his passing.

Alas, it brightens up our day to read how much you and your husband enjoyed dining with us. We have also taken your comments on service on the night into serious consideration and will be addressing the matter.

We hope to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards,
Matt the Thresher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matt The Thresher also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Matt The Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing