We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,247)
Filter reviews
5,247 results
Traveller rating
2,903
1,825
391
85
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,903
1,825
391
85
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phoenix park iveagh bar guinness storehouse nancy hands superior king heuston train station city centre great hotel national museum minute walk tram line kilmainham gaol breakfast buffet across the river luas stop hop on hop family room
Filter
Updating list...
2,968 - 2,973 of 5,247 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

After Istanbul ,this hotel was indeed a welcoming retreat. Staff friendly at reception, helpful with directions, breakfast, restaurant and bar meals very enjoyable. Comfortable bed, our room overlooked the park. We stayed in an Executive King room, it was large, it accommodated our three suitcases with ease. Michelle and Nicole are gems on reception always cheerful and helpful. The walk into Dublin city is about 20minutes, an easy walk. We enjoyed the fact that the hotel was on the outskirts of the city, quieter and more relaxed. I cannot fault this hotel, we are returning later this month on completion of our Irish experience. Public transport into the city is very close, perhaps 50metres.

Room tip: If you can afford it go for the "King Executive Room" the cost is worth it. The bathroom & bedroom are very roomy, hence comfortable.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BethRivertonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I am delighted with all of your comments and especially pleased to hear that Michelle and Nicole made your stay that extra bit special. Thank you for mentioning your room and the breakfasts. I hope to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A little underwhelming is the way i would describe my stay here. The hotel has no major faults as such but I'm a little puzzled as to how it attained 4 stars. The rooms are quite small and the room overlooked somebody back garden which isn't ideal. The key cards didn't work twice when we arrived and two trips to reception were required from the 7th floor. On leaving the car park the used towels were stacked on trollies for collection completely in the open which just doesnt give a good impression Overall the place just doesn't feel like a 4 star hotel especially for the money you pay

Date of stay: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. It is unfortunate that you did not feel we were four star quality, however I am pleased to hear that you had no major issues during your stay. I hope your overall trip to Ireland was an enjoyable one.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Location is amazing if you are not wanting to be in the main city but still to go in to town. The tram stop is in touching distance from the hotel and takes about 10 minutes into the temple bar stop. For the touristy day stuff like the Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Zoo and Kilmainham Goal it's all within 20 minutes walk. The hotel it's self was nice, clean and good sized rooms, we didn't have any food there but the menu had a good variety and was priced similar to other restaurants in Dublin. We were given two single beds and told we couldn't get a double because they were full booked, we booked through a 3rd party but did stipulate a double room but this probably never got fed back to the hotel. I would book the Ashling again

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review about your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel's location great for visiting tourist attractions, and the rooms good. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is a little away from the shopping and city precinct, but is opposite the Guinness brewery and close to Jamisons brewery - depends what you want to see in Dublin. Very comfortable and large room (large king) with a large bathroom with bath and shower and two sinks. Very comfortable bed - the room is on the corner of the hotel so views to the front over the Liffey River and also to the side. The food in the bar where we had lunch was good - seafood chowder recommended as being excellent. Staff helpful and quick. Recommended.

Room tip: We had room 604 which had a balcony although the doors were a little difficult to close and lock after enjoying the view.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel nice and the food lovely. I was also pleased to hear that you felt the staff were helpful and quick. I hope to welcome you back to us again soon.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for four days. The hotel was in a superb location, ideal for Heuston Station, Luas and bus stops. Ideal for a visit to the Guiness Factory, phoenix park and Dublin zoo. The staff were very efficient and really friendly.Breakfast was first class with a large choice of hot and cold food. The hotel was spotless and house keeping cleaned and changed the towels daily. The free wifi was an extra bonus
The only downside was the noise, our room was on the fourth floor at the front. The traffic was continuous all through the night and could be clearly heard even though the windows were double glazed.

Room tip: Room at the back would be quieter.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesley560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingHotelDublin, General Manager at Ashling Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your recent stay at the Ashling Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel's location great for getting about and that you enjoyed the breakfast selection. I would be delighted to welcome you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Alan Moody
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews