We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveller rating
734
807
397
157
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
734
807
397
157
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brewers fayre restaurant next door adjoining restaurant morrisons supermarket train station town centre good nights sleep reception staff night's sleep ben nevis family room plenty of parking few minutes walk the ground floor ideal location comfy bed short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was a motorcycle holiday. We traveled 80 miles in awful rain. On arrival at the hotel we got to our rooms to change out of our soaking leathers to find no heating on in the room.
We were offered the drying/ ski room, no heating in there either. We took our riding gear back to the room and applied the use of a table fan .
We went to the bar after showering to be told most of the beer pumps were empty . Gibsons choice. No tables for dinner. We walked into Fort William to find food and drinks.
On return to my room I took a closer look, not good.
Mould, rusty toilet fittings , dirty bed linen .
PI need to overhaul the hotel . This is on of the most expensive hotel . I didn’t get my money’s worth.
I won’t be back.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank keitha616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Keith,

Thank you for your review.

We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the issues you experienced. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you.

We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future.

In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Stayed here with my partner at the start of a week exploring the west coast. The location is great and the staff welcoming but the hotel really needs a refurb. Usually a Premier Inn fan as they're consistent with amenities and quality, but on this occasion I'm afraid they failed to hit the mark.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank syt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your review.

We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to condition of your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you.

We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future.

In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Tayler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

Reasonable Premier Inn, nice staff, comfy beds. No air-con and windows have restricted opening, get a fan from reception because the lack of air and heat in the bedrooms make it very difficult to get a good nights sleep. It really does need sorting out and the management/ownership must know how awful it is.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trip99663
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021

We have stayed in Premier Inns many times over the years. We return, because like a McDonalds Quarter Pounder, you know what you’re going to get. The standardisation offered by PI’s helps. But they do vary depending on several factors. The Premier Inn in Fort William is a barracks. It’s full of Hikers, Bikers, Tourists, Walkers, and travellers of all shapes and sizes. People use it as a budget base to sleep. We used it to sleep close to the railway station to facilitate an easy start one morning.
So Pluses….. Good position for town and station….. Close to pub, Morrison’s, McDonalds, Town, and the Station. …. Large Car Park….the usual ‘Standards’, comfortable bed etc,

Negatives: a very long walk to our room… ugly building….smelly shower curtain… air conditioning not working, and window wouldn’t open very far.

So there…, on the whole, our stay was Ok, but this is a more functional PI than many of the others. But if the the plus points tick your boxes, then you won’t be disappointed!!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2021

I've stayed at a lot of Premier Inns. All have been perfectly fine.
This hotel has some serious sound proofing issues and caused myself and my partner to be woken up in the early hours of every morning from hearing guests in the room above us walking about. I can only describe it as sounding like the ceiling was about to collapse yet I wouldn't say they were heavy-footed when walking. We even heard them snoring when we were trying to sleep (no joke!). And also woken up by their phone's alarm vibrating at 7am.
We spoke to a member of the reception team after our first night asking if we could be moved upstairs to avoid similar disruption again overnight but were told that there were no rooms available for our last night. I then asked about the Good Night Guarantee to which I have contacted Premier Inn about for a full refund but am still waiting to hear back from them.

The room desperately needs a bit of refurbishment with paint flaking off in the bathroom and the door not shitring properly as it rubs agains the door frame. There is no shaver socket in the bathroom leaving those without a rechargeable shaver or an adapter a little screwed!
The duvet on the bed had a few holes in it.
Check out the Google Maps review as I have also posted a review there with photos.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamestZ3821RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Fort William Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi James,

Thank you for your review.

We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the noise within the hotel and the condition of your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you.

We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Tayler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews