We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
105
11
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
11
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cullen skink glasgow cathedral lovely boutique continental style boutique hotel overnight stay next morning comfortable bed yogurt necropolis prosecco wee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Booked on Booking.com, very simple and this place is run by a lovely lady named Laura..this place does not disappoint at all. Check in was easy and the room was fantastic overseeing the Glasgow Cathedral. Had all the facilties needed and the continental breakfast was perfect

Room tip: Restaurant closes early on a Sunday, so get to Hotel in good time to save on disappointment
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank j0nasv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Mckenzie, Owner at Cathedral House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

So glad you were not disappointed and you found Cathedral House to be Fantastic. Dean Celentano's chef makes our granola, sourdough bread and berry compote - so glad you thought it was perfect

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

We spent one night here and wished we could have stayed longer.
The room was lovely, comfortable and offered great views.
The owner Laura was welcoming, friendly and professional.
We are in the restaurant and the food and cocktails were fantastic and the service impeccable… the staff are so friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had… the term continental does not do it justice.
All in all it was an amazing stay.

Room tip: The cathedral and necropolis opposite the hotel are really worth a visit
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank janegibney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Mckenzie, Owner at Cathedral House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021

Thank you Jane! It was lovely to look after you. So glad you thought your room was lovely and the views are fabulous, but of course i am bias! Celentano's, our partner restaurant is fantastic and i would agree the food and cocktails fabulous. We pride ourselves on the service so a great compliment all round. Please come back soon and stay longer next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

Quirky hotel up steps in a turret - individual bedrooms - recently refurbished -
Warm friendly owners and great food
Ideal base and position for glasgow city -
Comfy bed - high quality refurb
Covid precautions well adhered to

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Mckenzie, Owner at Cathedral House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thanks Jo t
We are indeed a quirky hotel! I am glad you found our welcome to be warm and friendly and the food to be tasty! thanks for taking the time to review we really appreciate and hope to see you next time you are in Glasgow X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

A beautiful hotel located in a perfect place close to the center and the Uni of Strathclyde. The room was very comfortable and had an amazing view, and the breakfast the following day was probably the best hotel breakfast I’ve had - all fresh, homemade foods! The staff were also really friendly. The only downside was that the room at the top (which we stayed at) was quite warm and didn’t have working wifi, but the lower floors had working wifi and were cooler. Highly recommend! :)

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dream19472978257
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Mckenzie, Owner at Cathedral House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear Dream I am so glad you found the room to be very comfortable and enjoyed our fabulous views. To say the breakfast was the best hotel breakfast you have ever had is such a huge compliment! As you pointed out Dean our chef /co-owner makes the granola, bread and berry compote in house.
I am sorry you found your room to be too warm, we are experiencing unseasonably warm weather and this is contributing to the warmth of so of the rooms however this will change i am sure as we move into Autumn. WE are experiencing problems with our WIFI on the upper floor and have an engineer coming out this week to review the set up and improve it so we have fully functions WIFI throughout. Hopefully you will come again to see us at Cathedral House. Kind regards
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Just returned from a overnight stay here. Me and my friend had a brilliant night.
We stayed up the loft which gave us a great view of the city. Room was beautiful. Very comfortable. Lady who checked us in was lovely and very helpful, even let us leave our bags in the hotel till we finished walking around.
Restaurant was lovely and great size portions. Breakfast was lovely. Was lovely sitting out in the garden under the heat lamp.
We had a great time and will be back in the near future.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 829lesleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Mckenzie, Owner at Cathedral House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2021

Dear Lesleyr thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We love the views from the loft which over looks the incredible necropolis. So glad you loved our restaurant Celentanos and enjoyed sitting in our beautiful garden under our heaters. We are so glad you want to come back and hope to see you in the not too distant future. Kind regards Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews