We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$73
View deal
Hotels.com
US$66
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$64
View deal
Agoda.comUS$79
ExpediaUS$66
Trip.comUS$65
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
465
347
81
39
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
465
347
81
39
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel cooked breakfast royal mile holyrood park off street parking arthurs seat quiet location single room main road walk in shower min walk lovely room princes street bus newington receptionist shutters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2022

The Salisbury Hotel is a converted period home about a 15 minute walk from the Royal Mile. With conversions, rooms differ widely in size and shape, but mine (on the garden level) was enormous. The bathroom was as big as many bedrooms, the furnishings were comfortable and checking/out easy and convenient. The garden floor has a Lebanese restuarant with a hidden Sheesha garden which is worth checking out.

Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info The Salisbury Hotel, Owner at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we are so happy to hear this feedback! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

Stayed a weekend here in July staff pleasant and helpful! Fair bit to princess street need to commute with bus's! Could do with a lick of paint and good tidy up! The front of hotel grounds are over grown slightly. There is a back garden but you can't get into it the door is locked even though there's a sign to say ! Garden residents only !

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank buttsAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info The Salisbury Hotel, Owner at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2022

Our hotel is located approx 20-25 min walk from Princes Street, and we have plenty of independent local business nearby to us, as we are located in Old Town, and approx 10 min walk from Holyrood park. Members of staff are on hand to help if you prefer public transport to get you places, or are happy to order taxi's for guests. We lock our back garden overnight for security reasons, please accept our apologies this was not unlocked during the day, but again a member of staff will be happy to unlock this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2022

Lovely huge room . A couple of minor issues, but receptionist sorted .Beds comfortable . Good selection of hot drinks and nice biscuits on tray .
Breakfast probably an 8 out of 10 , no tomatoes or eggs are stated on menu but nice toast and sufficient meal . Staff all pleasant .

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROSALYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info The Salisbury Hotel, Owner at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review. We really appreciate the feedback given, as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. I'm glad to hear our staff resolved any issues. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

The staff are friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quite spacious. They now offer a cooked breakfast which is a good option. The hotel is just off a main road so there is easy access to public transport to the city of Edinburgh, bit far away from the airport though.

A few slight things that I thought could have made my stay even better.

-Soundproofing is not good and you can hear guests come/go at all times.
- Communication- I paid for a later checkout at 12pm but a member of staff knocked on my door at 10:30am to say I had to checkout.
-Shutters on the windows make the room feel very old and they don’t lock and shut so your still left with light shining through.
- The TV is very small and only has 10 channels to choose from. Would just update it so it’s slightly bigger.
-No air conditioning only a fan available (this was more than fine because I wasn’t visiting in the summer but I can imagine the room getting quite warm.

All in all if I visit Edinburgh again I would happily stay here a second time.

Room tip: Very small car park so I would get public transport if possible.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info The Salisbury Hotel, Owner at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and really appreciate the feedback you have provided us with. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, so we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2021 via mobile

On a cold winters evening The Salisbury has a warm cosy atmosphere, and very welcoming. This place offers a fabulous menu at reasonable prices. The staff give a very friendly service, nothing is too much trouble.
Would highly recommend for any occasion, certainly made our birthday celebrations complete.

Room tip: Book in advance to avoid disappointment. I have had a couple of visits here now and both times very full
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sherpa12354272170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
nicky auld, General Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and it made your birthday trip special. Please come back again soon, it was a pleasure to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews