We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Hotels.com
US$96
View deal
Agoda.com
US$95
View deal
HotelIndigo.comUS$96
ExpediaUS$96
Trip.comUS$95
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
980
563
182
69
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
980
563
182
69
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews york place mini bar irn bru tram stop rain shower lovely hotel junior suite princes street hotel bar full scottish breakfast great shower fantastic stay location is excellent city centre comfy bed stayed here for one night waverley station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2022

We stayed at Hotel Indigo at York Place in Edinburgh on 22 November 2022. We booked a triple room. Room 112 was exceptionally good and very large. Lot of seating space, cupboards and mirrors. 2 double beds were nicely laid out. A large screen TV. The mini fridge was well stocked with various drinks-included in price. A large selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate with kettel. Bathroom was large with a separate shower and tub. All the amenities and toiletries were adequately stocked and were of exceptionally good quality. Iron, ironing board and safe!Excellent mattresses and duvets. Good air conditioning.
Staff was extremely courteous and helpfull. Next day morning the breakfast was a big surprise. All the standard continental breakfast as well as a separately ordered hot breakfast. Wide selection of vegetarian food. Plenty of healthy choices. Freshly made tea and coffee. Very helpful checking and checkout procedure. As we arrived early, we had left our bags at the reception. The bags were moved to our room when we came back in the afternoon to occupy the room! Probably the best hotel we've stayed at anywhere. Would happily stay again.

Thank you Indigo.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LeedsXray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Dear LeedsXray

Thank you for your amazing feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. to think that we rank as the best hotel you have stayed in makes us all very proud!

With warm wished and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

The hotel is literally in the city centre, very close to everything. It’s clean and most of the interior seem to be renovated. It’s mostly quiet, except depending on the room, if you are facing the tram line - it gets loud and shaky when the tram is coming :) The room on the top floor looks like it’s on the attic, and the funny thing - the floor wasn’t very even :) There was a bit on an angle (the place is a bit on the hill), so it was a little awkward trying to walk around the room because if that angle that was very noticeable.

I also felt like the room was cold. Well, I guess that’s because it’s November in Edinburgh… but because of it, I had to turn on the heating for the whole evening and night to make sure it’s warm when I was sleeping. It would be fine, however when I checked in - the room actual had air conditioning turned on, which was definitely not the right choice of temperature for the season…

I enjoyed breakfast the most - always warm and fresh. Full Edinburgh breakfast was the best! And the staff was most helpful! Always kind, available and responsive.

Room tip: If you really like it quiet, and IF there are rooms that don’t face the tram line - ask if they have availability for those.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lyunata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Dear Lyunata

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. I have fed back your comments regarding heating and the Housekeeping team are monitoring to ensure all rooms are at the correct temperature for arrival.

With warm wished and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2022

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel with friends .
Second time staying at this hotel.
Vincent and his team are fantastic and are very helpful. Very friendly.
Breakfast is cooked to order and is delicious.
Can’t wait to return again

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sheonamincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear sheonamincher

Thank you for your feedback on your return stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and Vincent was able to help enhance your experience, he sends his warm regards and thanks for your generous comments. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future for another enjoyable stay.

With warm wished and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2022

We stayed one night in Hotel Indigo to attend a function nearby. The hotel is clean and very well presented and the staff are fabulous. The breakfast was very fine and our room was lovely with a good shower. We'll be back.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear Michael C

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and found our breakfast to be so good! I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

With warm wished and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2022

Top rate service, really nice greeting and staff were super friendly throughout our stay. Room was very spacious, very clean and the 2 beds were extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was made to order and there was a buffet with bread, fruit, drinks, cheese and cold meats. It was really tasty.

The hotel is in a great location just off St Andrews square and a short 5-10 minute walk to princes street. The Tram from Edinburgh airport drops you in St Andrews square which is a short 5 min walk to the hotel

Overall really excellent stay, we really couldn’t fault anything A+++
Would stay again without any hesitation

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank meehanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear meehanda

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hotel Indigo. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

With warm wished and kind regards

Barry Makin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews