We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$12.80
More Info
from US$21.80
More Info
from US$18.28
More Info
Reviews (6,765)
Filter reviews
6,765 results
Traveller rating
4,836
1,580
271
50
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,836
1,580
271
50
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass house rock garden plants and trees east gate terrace cafe chinese garden full bloom light show gardens are beautiful sunny day city centre free entry few hours different areas worth a visit great place to visit couple of hours
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 6,765 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I think we visited here at the perfect time. Everything was in flower and fragrant. These are beautiful gardens and well worth a visit

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank SusieP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

So, for free, you can spend as long as you like wandering around beautiful gardens, just a mile from Edinburgh's city centre. What's not to like. Ok, so, we were fortunate to go on a sunny May morning, but regardless, it was a magical place. A feast of colour. Chinese rhododendrons, American sequoias, monkey puzzle trees, beautifully tended student plots, majestic glass houses, views to the castle. If we hadn't had to catch an afternoon train, we would have stayed all day. If you come to Edinburgh, put this on your list of must-sees.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Hillplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous day we had on Sunday for wandering around the grounds of The Royal Botanic Garden in Edinburgh. We took a picnic for our visit as we planned to stay most of the day. We bought tickets for the glass house and really glad we did as the tropical side of this beautiful place is absolutely amazing. As we walked through the different indoor gardens and had the pleasure of seeing and touching these amazing species left us all speechless. And we met the resident cat !! He had been in fishing beside the lily pond !!! He looked like he had just eaten taking up a whole bench in the next room!!! If you get the chance go into the glass house. It’s money well spent and you will not be dissapointed

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank SandM582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The Royal Botanic Garden has a stunning selection of plants and trees. Walking around it is a lovely way to spend the day. It is free entry, with a small charge to visit the Glasshouse

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank cherylsJ4305OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Start with a coffee on the lovely terrace of the café with views across the gardens and then just wander. It is an oasis in the city and beautifully managed with vistas of the Edinburgh sky line.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Springhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews