We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Miller & Carter Steakhouse
Ranked #43 of 2,804 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$9 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: New Town
Description: Located in the heart of the city, we are the perfect place to stop and unwind after exploring the wonders of Edinburgh Castle. Our cosy interior will make you feel right at home, ready to treat yourself and indulge in one of our 30 day aged Scotch beef steaks. Once you've tasted our hand-cut, 30-day aged Scotch beef you'll soon appreciate the care of our farmers, the exacting standards of our butchers and the passion of our chefs. Don't just take our word for it; book a table and decide for yourself.
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic meal and great service.

Ok - maybe the starters and desserts are a little pricey, but the steaks are great value coming with pretty much all the trimmings.

We went for the graduation special menu and it was fab. Highly recommend the beef dripping sauce with the steak!

Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank grahamg502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thanks for the great review and rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 387 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I cannot say enough about our server Waheed. This was a late booking with no information given about the event and Waheed made a special day glorious.
My sons graduation meal and not only did Waheed ask and remember everybody’s name, but he used names throughput the service and brought the occasion to a finale with a complimentary graduation cake and glass of fizz. He found out the occasion, he made my son feel special and played an absolute blinder.
Food was excellent but the service was out of this world.
Thanks Waheed, you made our day

The Hughes’s

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Michael, thanks for the fantastic review and rating, its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and yes Waheed is a true asset to us here, thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Always have a good meal in M&C however I want to leave a review on our server. I am not sure how to spell his name but it was pronounced Juaneed.

He was probably one of the best servers we’ve ever had! He took the time to remember all our names, was friendly, not pushy and even recognised that we were out for a retirement lunch and raised a toast to our boss.

I cannot praise him enough - he is an asset to the place! Made a tasty meal even better!

Thank you!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jenni_mc311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi there, thank you so much for the rating and fantastic review, its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us here. Yes Waheed truly is an asset to us here!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Was not happy with seat next to a screaming birthday party and table with rowdy kids booked table for 9.
Steak was not great service limited to necessary drop offs and no more. £45 wish I hadn’t spent.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Hi Julie, sorry to hear about your visit with us and that it was unenjoyable for yourself as that's not what we aim for. Would you be able to send us some details of your visit to edinburghcitycentre@millerandcarter.co.uk so we can investigate further including date/time/what was had etc?

Hopefully wont deter you from trying us again, we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Team at Edinburgh CC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We ate here on Saturday 23rd June to celebrate my husbands birthday. Both the food and the service were superb. We had the chateaubriand x 3 which was cooked to perfection for all 6 of us. The service provided by Waheed was first class. We were all impressed at how he consistently called us by our first names throughout our meal, don’t know how he does it!! The only negative thing about the visit was the position of our table, right in front of the kitchen. It was quite noisy and very warm. Overall the food and service made this experience a very enjoyable one. This was our second visit and we ate already planning our 3rd!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank EL838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for the fantastic review, the chateaubriand is amazing and its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. we hope to see yo again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Steakhouse also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Miller & Carter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing