We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveller rating
647
746
220
55
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
647
746
220
55
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal mile great location old town the sofa bed buffet breakfast minute walk reception staff short stay tourist attractions main attractions would stay again modern hotel princes street city centre cowgate cereal castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2022

The hotel is located in a studenty area, but is quiet, well located for restaurants, the Royal Mile, and other tourist attractions.
Our bedrooms (standard double with sofa bed) were always clean, and well serviced.
The staff, at reception, cleaning and maintenace were always helpful, smiling, and courteous. Reception were quite happy to print off our boarding cards, and also those of our friends who were not staying at the hotel. Maintenace rapidly fixed a slightly sticky bathroom door, whilst the cleaning staff were always happy to provide a little extra coffee/milk etc, and help with room keys...
The only slight (and I mean slight!) niggle was that the air-con in the breakfast area could be alittle chill at times.
One tip - book early, as the rooms had gone up nearly a thousand pounds between December 2021 and September 2022. One of the booking options gives you a full refund upto 24 hours before check in...

Room tip: 4th floor is very quiet
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hughcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kirsty Nicol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2022

Dear hughcr,

Location is of the hotel is great for getting around the city. We are on the Cowgate in the Old Town, near the Royal Mile with everything just a walk away.

The team really make the hotel and are always on hand to help in any way possible. I have passed your comments to them and they were delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We do a simple continental buffet breakfast with Sausage, bacon, scramble egg and beans. It is inclusive to all our guests at no extra cost to get you started for your busy day visiting Edinburgh.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2022 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, two days later every single member of staff were absolutely lovely. Nothing was too trouble. The rooms were clean and adequate for our stay, breakfast was perfect, staff in breakfast area were as nice as reception staff. Will certainly be recommending this hotel. Good staff make an excellent hotel! Thank you I will definitely return

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 818patsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kirsty Nicol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Dear 818patsyc,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad you found the hotel to your satisfaction. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have the best stay possible and it is always great to hear this from our guests. We are soo happy to hear that you had an incredible stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.


We look forward to seeing you again at Royal Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

Liked · The location is fenomenal! The staff is amazing and very welcoming! We were at the 4rd floor, and it was vert quiet!, perfect to rest :)

Room and bathroom very clean .Helpful staff. good breakfast, good room service. We will definitely visit this hotel again

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mattmattuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kirsty Nicol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Dear Mattmattuy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad you found the hotel to your satisfaction. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have the best stay possible. We will definitely take pass your comments to the team. After such a busy month your feedback will certainly be a pleasure to pass on to them.

We look forward to seeing you again at Royal Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

Pros-

-Good location
-Front staff was nice
-Decent breakfast

Cons-
-The rooms were tiny. There was no place to move at all once the sofa bed was open.
-bathroom was tinier if possible. The sink and the shower had cracks
- the air conditioning didn’t work well at all and the comforters given made it difficult to sleep at night
- the Internet worked only in the lobby. In the room if you sat on the floor by the door it worked.
- there were no charging plugs next to the bed. There was only 1 on table. Since we were a family of 4, it was difficult to charge everything
- there was no basic toiletries like conditioner available even for purchase.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank as79_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kirsty Nicol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Dear as79_nyc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile.

We are very sorry to see that overall we were not what you expected from a Holiday Inn Express.

Location of the hotel is great for getting around the city. We are found on the Cowgate in the Old town and many attractions are within walking distance. The team really do strive for customer excellence and will help our guests in any way possible and offer a simple complimentary breakfast for all our guests to get you started for your visit of Edinburgh.

We always try to warn our guests prior to arrival that once there is 4 of you in the rooms with luggage and sofabed there is very limited space. On the booking site you used to book one of the 1st imagines is on the room with the sofebed down, which is clear that there is limited space, along with the 1st line of the description we explain that the room is 19 sqm. We have not received a complaint about the size of the bathroom before and do usually get more positive feedback about it ingenuity regarding the door, but will certainly monitor this in future feedback.

We have a contractor coming out on the 16th September to fix the crack in the sink and shower. This happens when guests drop glass or heavy products, usually large bottles of perfume and the corner hits the sink or shower pod. We do get these issues fixed in a timely manner, but due to events taking place in August, September was is the best time to get them repaired.

Our Air Conditioning Company came out to look at the aircon in room 402, after your review and they have found absolutely nothing wrong with the unit. This room has been getting used by guests since your stay and we have no further feedback about this unit. We continue to monitor and the AirCon is working fine.

This is also the same for the internet WiFi – we have been checking this daily and in other rooms, different times, but nothing has been found to say there is an issue. We have been advised to continue to monitor and any further feedback and engineer will come out to replace the Wifi routers on the 4th Floor.

For 2023 we have a plan in place and have received quotes to have USB sockets placed next to the beds. We do receive feedback about the lack of sockets at the bed and understand our guest’s frustrations at this. We have a double socket with USB charge at the desk and a single socket at the mirror at the moment and we also have 5 meter extensions available on request at reception in the meantime.

There is basic toiletries in the bathroom with handwash at the basin and a combo hair/shower gel in the shower. You can also get a variety of guest supplies at the reception such as bars of soap, shaving kits and dental kits to name a few, but will certainly look at getting conditioner as part of these supplies at the reception.

Again thank you for your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022

Another stay, and again good stay. Since last stay we notice that public area are cleaner and rooms are much nicer then last time. Much cleaner then last time. Basic breakfast but good, and is for free so nothing to complain. Will come back again in nearest future. Only one point - reception staff could be more helpful

Room tip: top floor odd numbers, at the end of the corridor, you may see Arthur Seat !!!
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maciej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kirsty Nicol, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Dear Maciej M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad you found the hotel to your satisfaction. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have the best stay possible. We will definitely take onboard your comments about the reception team and hopefully you will see an improvement the next time we welcome you to Edinburgh. We look forward to seeing you again at Royal Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews