We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
483
146
29
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
483
146
29
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews selkirk arms lovely hotel excellent food breakfast and dinner stayed one night would highly recommend this hotel short break local produce lovely room twin room haggis pudding warm welcome high standard well worth a visit douglas joanna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2021

A few days spent at this hotel demonstrated why its dining room is consistently booked out far in advance. Excellent cuisine at good prices and charming service throughout this hotel. We occupied room 4 which was a small quirky double at the top of a winding staircase, well appointed and comfortable although the window opened only a tiny amount and a fan was provided to contribute some air movement. The rest of the town offered little dining opportunity as some places had shut down entirely and others open on only a couple of days a week. We felt the Selkirk Arms offered good value and well conceived Covid precautions.

Room tip: If you have mobility issues, room 4 may not be yoru best option.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 16 August 2021

Dear borderwoman,

The town is trying so hard to fill the many staffing gaps within its hospitality - the staycation boom is highlighting this, that's for sure. At the hotel we contact guests in advance of their reservation to discuss dining plans and try and make sure everyone is catered for or has made firm plans elsewhere.

This makes your review all the more appreciated! Very heartening to read your observations and we can't thank you enough for letting us know. I will make sure the kitchen team and front-of-house all see this happy review and we sincerely thank you for your support.

best wishes,

Joanna
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Long wait to get food 45mins and food cold and uncooked. Looks like baby food very bland and tasteless .shame as it used to be a great meal as went often .sweets and flavoured coffees are a must . Need to get back to what it used to be .the waiters and waitresses are all very polite and pleasant.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annmL4506UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Fab meal, had to book week in advance. Good service, friendly staff. Good food what more could you want. We had two burgers, haddock and chips and the lamb. All good portions and well cooked. Would recommend! :)
Easy parking in street nearby.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lyn5min
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 11 August 2021

Dear Lyn5min

Ah, yes, it's a little tricky to get a dinner reservation at short notice just now. The Staycation result of the pandemic is keeping us nice and busy and we just don't have the space to cope with the exceptional demand that the region is experiencing this year.

However, I am delighted you got in! Great comments about the food and service - thanks once again.

best wishes,

Joanna
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

The service at the Selkirk was excellent from the point of booking (special mention to Joanna, who dealt very professionally with queries regarding dietary requirements and changes to the booking) all the way through to the end of the evening.

It was a special birthday celebration and our guests had travelled great distances to join us. I wanted everything to go well, and it did.

The food was excellent: the seafood platter (below) was exceptional. We had the table all evening which allowed us plenty of time to relax, chat and enjoy the company. Thank you to all at the Selkirk for helping to make it a perfect night.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 982fionar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 16 August 2021

Dear982fionar,

You are welcome ! A really super group to look after at this special celebration. Thank you for your custom and for letting us know how you all enjoyed the evening.

We are blown away by your comments - it is a great boost during the strangest year we've ever known.

Sincere thanks again.

best wishes,

Joanna
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Just back from a fantastic long weekend at The Selkirk Arms with car club friends. The rooms are lovely. The food is absolutely fabulous and the staff are great. Nothing is too much bother. Thanks to everyone especially Joanne for sorting out my ice blocks. Thoroughly recommend this hotel .

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 11 August 2021

Dear Sue H,

So happy to read of your recommendation - it was a pleasure to host you all during that extended weekend break.
Your comments are very welcome in these busy times and I will pass them onto the team.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the event of another trip - thank again!

best wishes,

Joanna
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews