We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
251
314
211
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
314
211
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely lake business park retail park small pool liberty stadium an industrial estate plenty of free parking city centre health club a bit tired very pleasant stay weekend break the ground floor night stay short drive family room breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

we stayed here as we had a great experience in the Chester chain. similar deal with meal on first night. the waiter was helpful and friendly. the food was nice and we went for the three course deal. the room had a sofa in which was great. to get five stars they need to give more tea bags and milk in rooms and clean thoroughly as we found a toothbrush under sofa when moved.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gloscath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Ian H,

Thank you for your kind review posted further to your recent stay with us.

Firstly please accept my apologies for the toothbrush under the sofa, our new sofa beds weigh a ton, and the girls are struggling to move them enough to fully hoover under them, which is something that we need to find a way around.

We do put a set stock of tea bags and milk cartons in the room, though if anyone wishes more we are more than happy to top up for free, and they do keep a little stash of these and coffee sachets etc behind reception for anyone who asks.

Thanks once again for your feedback.

Best wishes

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night - The room
Was ok few stains on carpet, a welcome folder with information in our room such as breakfast times, checking out times etc, local attractions etc would have been appreciated. We went to use the health suite facilities they were disappointing to say the least, the pool had a rowing machine and weight machine next to it !! And a room with cardio equipment in next to the pool which all felt squashed in. as I swam I could hear and see a man pounding on the treadmill with an external door open meaning I had a huge draught coming into the pool. No steam room and to use the small sauna I had to walk thru the gym room and men working out to access it ! So I ended up only staying a short time. Evening time - We reserved a table and asked to be seated away from the busy part (several coach trips had arrived) menu deal was 3 courses for £22 each starter, main, dessert. Starters okish main course however was help yourself we opted for hake with veg which had been sat out in the food warmer/lights for too long - it was all lukewarm very disappointing. We mentioned this to our waiter and they acknowledged food had been sat out too long and refunded us price paid. Another gripe - Drinks well the cost per wine bottle was ridiculous - a bottle of doombar was £5.10 !!! That’s not even a pint, so after food we went to the nearby Tesco’s and it was £1.50 a bottle there and also got a bottle of wine for the room. Drink prices are a rip off. Young inexperienced staff working the floor we saw one drop a tray of glasses with several being smashed. Breakfast was £11 each again lukewarm food croissants not that fresh and not good value for money. Would we stay again no definitely not. Disappointing and no I wouldn’t recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WELSH-DRAGON-116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Welsh dragon,

Thank you for your review further to your recant stay. It was disappointing to hear that you were not fully satisfied with all aspects of your stay, and please be assured we will take on board the points you have raised so as to ensure that such issues do not re occur.

Best Regards

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Mecure on a Saturday & Sunday in August. The staff were friendly and very helpful, in fact nothing was too much mother. The evening meal we had was stunning, as were the breakfasts. The room was clean and well serviced by the excellent cleaning staff. Thank you all, we are coming back soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Ian W,

Thanks for your kind review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.


Best Regards


Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Just spent 3 nights at the hotel enjoying the Gower peninsular and surrounding area. We received superb service from reception, particularly from Gabriella, who made great efforts to ensure we were comfortable in our room and happy with our stay. A real asset to any organisation, very polite, welcoming, intelligent and helpful. Also thank you to the bar staff for continually fetching and storing insulin injections in their fridge so willingly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Cathy K,

Thx for your kind review, we have a young team, buy what they lack in experience they more than make up for in enthusiasm. I will pass on your comments to Gabriella, who is one of the youngest receptionists we have ever had, but seems to be coming on leaps and bounds.

All reviews go on the staff notice board so the team do apppreciate when people take th3 time out to thank them.

Thanks once again.

Best Regards


Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Breakfasts were amazing and the staff friendly. We stayed four nights and the rooms were kept clean. We stayed with our dog which worked out OK but a shame dogs were not allowed in the bar. The small,pool,gym and sauna were an added bonus. The lake nearby is very nice but the other way is just industrial estate.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to asimon discount on multiple breakfasts. Childs bed was not great but we managed fine.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Atfoster70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews