We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
112
108
90
48
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
108
90
48
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub food function room centre of town old building full english lovely food stayed here for one night an evening meal high standard pen y fan penny pint character venue ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Despite some reviews not so good, liking the ambience of the hotel , decided on eating there before going to theatre, very busy, food came quite quickly , Matthew worth his weight in gold, working bar, taking food orders, waiting , clearing tables, a one man band , and very polite, food good.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words and recognition of Mathew and will pass on your lovely words to him

Best wishes
Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Room on front clean and comfy beds no problem on Friday however on Saturday night there were groups of youngsters shouting in the square until 2.30am after turning out from the pubs. Meals both breakfast and one early evening meal were average and as been mentioned by other guests not very quick on delivery. Beer battered fish and chips would have been nicer if the fish skin had been removed. I asked a few days before travelling if gluten free bread was available or should I bring my own? I was told it would be ok as there were other guests that required it that weekend however no one had told the kitchen. You ask for feedback but at no time during our 2 day stay were we asked if everything was ok. Your cleaners were the most welcoming and friendly people in the place

Room tip: Back should be quieter some rooms have steep winding stairs so ask if mobility reduced
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you for leaving your review, sorry that we never met your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Have just stopped off here with my partner for Sunday lunch the mash potatoe was freezing and meat was awful wouldn’t go back, we’ve been staying in Cardiff and came to Brecon for the day on our way through, didn’t find staff very friendly and no welcome at all very disappointed

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ann662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Hi Ann,
Thank you for your feedback and the comments made about the Sunday roast, can I please ask as to what was the response from the duty manager when you complained because you don't mention this in your review, did you raise this with the team to get it replaced? or simply walk out and post a review.

Anyway reading reviews please can you raise any issues with me directly at the hotel because I can never fix a problem at the time unless I know about it

Best wishes
Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Myself and 2 other stayed here for about 3 weeks as we were working in the local Library.
From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel family, nothing was too much trouble !
the owners are very professional, the food here is good value for money :)

Top Hotel !!! Nick

Nick Hurst

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanboil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Hi Nick,
It was great having you here are the Wellington while you were working locally you became part of the family but we will always remember when you came back from Spain.
Best wishes and thank you for the review
Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Pleasant welcome when we entered the restaurant. New menu on offer which had a very good selection I chose the 3 courses for £10.99 my wife had 2 courses for £8.99 portions were good very well presented and extremely tasty. Service was excellent and every table was cleaned after each customer left unlike nearby weatherspoons!!!! Will be returning

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fire1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback which we really appreciate and pleased that you enjoyed our new menu selection and took advantage of value 3 course menu offering.
We welcome you back very soon
Best wishes
Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews