We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
173
20
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
20
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk welsh whisky lansdowne hotel bank bar great selection for breakfast four poster lovely lounge area street parking friendly couple guest lounge recommending walks arrived earlier small touches dry room full english breakfast central location stayed here for three nights
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Great short break to recharge. Hosts couldn’t have done any more to help us. Really lovely bed-and-breakfast. Will definitely coming back again. Highly recommended.
Great location for access to amenities in town.
Parking was a breeze. Nespresso machine was a nice touch.
Dry room for walking kit was also very useful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ash_and_Ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Ash and Ames,

We're so pleased that you managed to relax and recharge and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, we look forward to your next visit, there'll be plenty of coffee in the Nespresso machine and hopefully you'll have no need for the drying room!

Best wishes to you both,

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

This place ticks all of the boxes, great location in the town, leave the car at the door.
We stayed 3 nights and slept soundly after a night cap in the bar, cosied up to the log fire.The place is spic and span, comfortable beds and plenty of storage space for our gear.
Best of all John and Christine made us feel royally welcomed, even taxied us to pick up our cars after a wedding reception. Nothing was any trouble and they care greatly for their guests.
We look forward to returning with our dog as the venue has two rooms for visitors with dogs!

Room Tip: Give John and Christine a call to check availability - there's even a room with a 4 poster bed!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

It was our pleasure to take care of you for a few days and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found everything to your liking.

Our website will soon show that we don't take dogs - there have been a few complications from channel bookers and so we have felt the need to do this - However, if you have stayed with us previously with a dog or if you CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR DOG AVAILABILITY it's very likely that we will be able to accommodate you - this way we retain the control rather than the booking channels.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your pooch in the not too distant future.

Very best wishes

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay at the guest house. The owners are so accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are clean and spacious and well equipped. We appreciated the choice of tea, coffee and fresh milk outside the rooms. My favourite part was the very welcoming lounge area with the log fire. Great for gathering with the rest of the family before and after dinner. Would definitely return if in the are.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Katie,

We are so pleased that you felt welcomed, it's always our aim to make our guests feel at home, hence the extra choices of teas and coffees and the fresh milk - I so dislike the little milk pots - fresh milk all the way for me too! We also love to see our guest lounge being put to good use with the sofas and chairs full of guests chatting around the fire, and on occasion making use of the honesty bar too.

We'd be delighted to welcome you again if you're in the area

Best wishes and thank you for taking the time to write a review, it really means a great deal to us

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

A lovely well run B&B.
We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by Christine and John who,despite our sweaty clothes and mucky bicycles,didn't bat an eyelid.Bikes were put away safely and securely inside the building.Very reassuring.
Room was lovely and so clean even my wife would've been impressed.
Beds were comfortable ,lovely towels and there was a nice selection of hot drinks available .
I could have quite happily spent the evening sat in front of the log burner in the cosy front room.Also available was a great selection of drinks at the honesty bar.The local Penderyn whisky is definitely worth a try.
There was a great selection for breakfast ,fresh fruit,yoghurts, cereal and a cooked option.All good quality.The cooked breakfast was as good as any I've had.
All in all a very nice place and if I return to Brecon I won't need to search for accommodation,Ty Helyg will do it for me.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank davidmC9435ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear David,

We understand all too well how important it is to find cycle friendly accommodation with secure overnight storage - my own son use to take his bike to his room at night (well before our B&B days I should add) so it's been impressed upon us for many years how careful we should be about storing bikes and we are of course blessed with the space to do this readily.

John and I are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction and in fact great praise indeed to hear that even your your wife would have been impressed!! We have very much appreciated all your comments, it's lovely to hear that you've had such an enjoyable stay and we very much look forward to welcoming again in the future.

Kind regards

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

An excellent B&B in a good location. Hosts were very friendly and very helpful. The cooked breakfast was just perfect. The King room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It was easy to walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoRoQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay,

We're delighted that you enjoyed it.

Kind regards

Christine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews