We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative way to spend an hour”

The Original Tour Windsor
Ranked #12 of 23 Tours in Windsor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit Windsor & Eton, historic towns with links to royalty, on-board The Original Tour's double-decker sightseeing buses. Come and hop-on our newest tour of 'London’s Country Estate', the quintessentially British and Royal town of Windsor. This picturesque area has long been connected to the British Monarchy and the stunning Windsor Castle has been the family home of British Kings and Queens for over 1,000 years! With free WIFI, our tours will be passing by some of wonderful Windsor’s most well-known and iconic places including Windsor Castle, The Long Walk, Eton College, Datchet village and the Windsor Farm Shop. So hop-on to enjoy and discover all of the beauty Windsor has to offer!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very popular with tourists we were lucky to catch a bus that wasn't full. Touring Windsor, Eton and the surrounding area the automated audio guide talked you through each location including historical and modern aspects. The tour lasted about and hour but was very informative. The driver was friendly and helpful handing out free crowns to those who wanted them. Certainly worth a punt.

Thank Spark1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTCustomerService, Manager at The Original Tour Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Spark1972,

Thanks so much for your lovely review, it really is great to hear about your experience of our tour.

Hope we can welcome you back onto our buses one day!

Best wishes from us all at The Original Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"eton college"
in 9 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 4 reviews
"city tour"
in 4 reviews
"open top bus"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 4 reviews
"farm shop"
in 3 reviews
"long walk"
in 5 reviews
"earphones"
in 9 reviews
"watchet"
in 13 reviews
"commentary"
in 19 reviews
"trees"
in 5 reviews
"castle"
in 26 reviews
"sites"
in 4 reviews
"facts"
in 2 reviews
"pounds"
in 4 reviews
"thames"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quick and easy ticket ordering online and good tour of the area through Windsor and Eton. Friendly staff and the hop on-off option is really helpful.

Thank kmleather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTCustomerService, Manager at The Original Tour Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello kmleather,

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Windsor.

Hope we can welcome you back onto our buses one day!

Best wishes from us all at The Original Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Visited a week after the wedding .i didnt know it was a bank holiday so everyman and their dogs were there . We couldnt get into the castle so on the advise of the lady at the info we did the tour and had lunch at Windsor farm . This was a good tour . It would have been even better if it hadnt been so busy.

Thank yakka58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTCustomerService, Manager at The Original Tour Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi yakka58,

Thanks so much for your review, it really is great to hear about your experience of our tour.

Hope we can welcome you back onto our buses one day!

Best wishes from us all at The Original Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

The hop-on hop-off bus service makes for a great family-friendly day out. There was plenty of room for our buggy on the bus and the children loved listening to commentary of the tour on complimentary headphones plugged into the seats. The downstairs and upstairs front section of the bus is covered which is great if you have a baby or young children with you and it's raining or chilly, or you can sit in the open top section for great views of Windsor and Eton.

1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOTCustomerService, Manager at The Original Tour Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Natalie B,

Thanks so much for your lovely review, it really is great to hear about your experience of our tour.

Hope we can welcome you back onto our buses one day!

Best wishes from us all at The Original Tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This has to be one of the best of these type of bus deals. Good commentary. I also found it gave me a sense of geography of the area. And of course you can get on and off at will.

Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connor F, Marketing Assistant at The Original Tour Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Thank you for your brilliant review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our tour so much and that you found it useful when exploring Windsor, Eton & Datchet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original Tour Windsor also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Original Tour Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing