We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
32
49
31
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
49
31
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moo restaurant continental breakfast self service leisure facilities salt water pool steam room and sauna fruit and yogurt wall paper included in price family party young man on reception on arrival iron and ironing board booked rooms friendly hotel overnight stay reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed with family overnight on Saturday 19th may 2018. Excellent stay very comfortable clean room with friendly staff and great food in the adjoining restaurant.Great breakfast and choices, well worth a stay if visiting this area. Will visit again when in the future. Well done.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Reception at The Highfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Highfield Hotel!

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

On arrival the young man on reception was very polite and friendly, we were shown to our rooms, I was very surprised at how big they were. The rooms had TV and a large comfortable double bed, it was clean and tidy. I asked about meals and was told that the restaurant next door did good meals, I used it on 2 occasions and found it to be very good and reasonable priced, the staff were amazing on both occasions, I only remember 1 of their names " Louise". I was down for a family bereavement and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget room.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank bustermk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Pros:
- Great friendly staff
- Big rooms
- Comfy beds
- Quiet
- Pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi
- Small gym
- Nice help-yourself breakfast (cold)
- Relaxing and laidback atmosphere

Cons:
- Small TVs
- Rooms look dated

Overall a great little hotel! Definitely recommend to families especially, or anyone just wanting to relax.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gracelizabeth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel as we were attending an evening wedding reception here. The room was adequate, bedding and towels were poor quality but were clean. My main complaint would be a green light. Presumably something to do with safety. It was horrendous and lit up the whole room! I've stayed in many hotels and never had anything like it.
We used the leisure faculties these are ok but, nothing special.
On arrival we booked a cooked breakfast as the overnight stay only came with a cold one. For this we paid £5 each. We were told we couldn't have this until
9 30. This is late for us for breakfast. On arrival we ordered our full English. I ordered a small one as I don't have a large appetite. It said it also came with toast. After waiting 20 mins our breakfast arrived. Mine was full size and we got no toast. (We helped ourselves in the end from the cold buffet selection). It didn't look appetising and wasn't very warm. The sausage bacon and egg were all undercooked! Sausage had no colour whatsoever, bacon had a lot of fat soft and horrible and I asked for a soft yolk on my egg and not snotty white!! All in all didn't enjoy even less so as we'd paid extra for it. Also serving staff didn't seem to know what they were doing as they wanted to charge us another 95p! Don't thin we'll be staying her again. Did enjoy the parry on Saturday evening though

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Rooms need refurbishing; very dated, paint peeling, stains on carpet. The only positive comments I can make is that it's clean, there's parking and the staff were OK. It's nowhere near value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floss_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews