We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pub with no beer”

The Shakespeare Inn
Ranked #158 of 2,504 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$6 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: You will find The Shakespeare Inn in Summer Row Birmingham within a short stroll of Snow Hill Station, Jewellery Quarter and Bull Ring Shopping Centre - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited pub at 1:20 pm but out of the 4 ales on display, only the Cornwall sea water that is ‘Doom Bar’ was available.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 792philo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

During the time of your visit, we did indeed have availability issues with ales. It was a shame as around half an hour before we had 5 ales available and they all started running out at the same time. For this I can only apologise. I hope it doesn't put you off from returning to us.

Regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2021

My wife and I called in for dinner and could not have been made more welcome by the staff. It was our first visit, and the pub was recommended by the hotel we were staying in. Great atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff and an excellent dinner, what more could you ask for? 10 out of 10 for the food, the staff and the ambience. Both the girls working behind the bar that we spoke to made us feel welcome and were genuinely interested in us and why we were in the pub. They gave us great information about the pub, the pies, and the beer. They could not have done anything better. Good value for money and great pies.

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 1Bohemia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Shakespeare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor, it goes a really long way for us! We're really glad you enjoyed your experience with us, and I will make sure the team see this!

Hope to see you again next time you're in the city.

Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Called in for a quick drink before visiting a nearby restaurant. On entering front part of the bar was very busy & whilst looking for a table a member of staff came out & told us to go into the back room where there was more space.

They have a good selection of draft beers & gins & Fever Tree Tonics.

A great bar if I didn't live several hundred miles away would be a regular.

Barmaid was very friendly & helpful.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JAMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Shakespeare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Hi JAMS51,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it goes a long way for us! We're really pleased that you have had a positive experience visiting us and glad you liked our selection! Hopefully next time you are in Birmingham we will see you again!

Kind Regards,

Ryan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

From walking in we were welcomed, the
bar man Matt M was so helpful couldn't do enough for us we had toad in the hole asked for extra gravy no problem he was very attentive and helpful great service well done Nicholson you got good staff.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Hodgo050849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Hi Hodgo,

As much as we love hearing our guests great feedback, I'm afraid Matt M works at The Shakespeare on Lower Temple Street, so if you could kindly swap the review over to their page, I think they would appreciate it more!

Really glad you had a great experience at their site, it's a really good classic pub.

Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent food excellent service staff were so friendly and willing to help with anything we wanted. Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank KukoSuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Kukosuko, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We look forward to your next visit! Take care!


Best wishes,
The Shakespeare Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shakespeare Inn also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.