We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School visit”
Review of Cadbury World

Cadbury World
Ranked #54 of 264 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Uncover a world of chocolate delights and enjoy a fascinating, fun-packed day out at Cadbury World. From learning how your favourite confectionery is made and uncovering the fascinating story of Cadbury chocolate, to playing in chocolate rain and adding your favourite treat to a delicious pot of warm liquid Cadbury Dairy Milk. You'll discover the origins of the cocoa bean amidst trees and waterfalls in the Aztec Jungle, before jumping on board the magical Cadabra ride and visiting the brand new 4D Chocolate Adventure zone, a 4D cinema experience featuring Cadbury's most popular characters. Cadbury World is located in the grounds of the original Cadbury factory, but isn't a tour of the factory itself. Instead, you'll discover the history, the making and the magic of Cadbury confectionery as you journey through our chocolatey zones.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

I took 60 14 year olds. Firstly the education talks are excellent, especially Colin. The tour is a bit dated in places and could do with more hands on exhibits, perhaps actually making some chocolate. It's a shame that the packaging plant is no longer there. The 4D cinema is brilliant, however after the two videos on the main tour I feel that the learning content could be improved. Perhaps the process that cadburys goes through in coming up with new bars and designing and making them. Also the journey of a chocolate bar. What countries are they sold to etc.

1  Thank Freddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoy our educational talks, especially with Colin our Education Manager.

Bournville is still very much the heart and the home of Cadbury, however due to recent investment, the part of the factory which Cadbury World had access to, has now been moved to a different area in the Bournville site. The Chocolate Making Area within Cadbury World helps visitors take a look at how chocolate used to be made.

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your recommendations.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"free chocolate"
in 970 reviews
"melted chocolate"
in 496 reviews
"cadabra ride"
in 315 reviews
"play area"
in 564 reviews
"bournville experience"
in 140 reviews
"love chocolate"
in 134 reviews
"chocolate lovers"
in 127 reviews
"factory shop"
in 114 reviews
"chocolate tasting"
in 99 reviews
"magic show"
in 117 reviews
"bournville village"
in 112 reviews
"time slot"
in 206 reviews
"great family day"
in 96 reviews
"on arrival"
in 183 reviews
"school holidays"
in 122 reviews
"booked online"
in 80 reviews
"great for kids"
in 83 reviews
Filter

427 - 431 of 8,390 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Took kids for their first visit (and probably their last). They enjoyed it but not as much as they thought they would. It’s a 3 hour visit at the most depending on queues. There was a sooty and sweep show on but at 6 and 9 years old my kids weren’t going near that! Factory shop is good now it’s part of the main shop, but check best before dates on the items. Lots of displays about branding and history of the company but now there is no production there not much else to see unfortunately.

Thank clairew632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

Bournville is still very much the heart and the home of Cadbury, however due to recent investment, the part of the factory which Cadbury World had access to, has now been moved to a different area in the Bournville site. The Chocolate Making Area within Cadbury World helps visitors take a look at how chocolate used to be made.

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your recommendations.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This is a good attraction for all the family. We booked for 2.30 on a sunday and it was quite busy but well organised. You only get three bars of chocolate during the day tho which you would expect some more. The queue for the Cadabra ride was over 40 minutes long so e decided to skip that which was annoying but we werent wasting 40 minutes. The gift shop was rasonably priced. We spent about 2 hours there in total, its reasonable value for money.

Thank ash131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are pleased to hear you had a fun day out at Cadbury World recently.

Thank you for your comments regarding the amount of free chocolate samples you received on your recent visit. It has always been our company policy to give out 3 bars per person in the main exhibition, plus a cup of melted chocolate with choice of treat in our Chocolate Making zone.

We understand how frustrating queuing can be at attractions and have endeavoured to reduce congestion by controlling the time at which all our visitors enter the exhibition. However, speed of progress through the exhibition varies greatly from visitor to visitor and time of year such as school holidays and weekends, occasionally this results in congestion at certain points.

We strive to offer a customer experience that suits everyone so we are always happy to read your recommendations.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to Cadbury’s world as always, plenty to do and see, the tour is ace especially if your a chocolate fan, highly recommend

Thank Dave1boro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Cadbury World. We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for another visit that is choc-full of fun :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Really fun, me and my partner are both in our 20’s and we both enjoyed it here a lot. It’s meant mostly for a younger audience but we still found plenty that we found interesting and had a great time. Lots of history and lots of chocolate.
Would definitely recommend to both families and to those who might consider themselves too old to go without kids!

Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadburyWorldUK, Cadbury World Administrator at Cadbury World, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave Cadbury World a review.

We are very pleased to hear you and your partner enjoyed your recent trip to Cadbury World, learning the history of chocolate and the Cadbury family. We do believe the Cadbury World experience is a mixture of activities for both adults and children to enjoy. The beginning of the exhibition concentrates on the history of Cadbury and Bournville while other zones provide fun and interaction for children and little ones such as Purple Planet, our 4D Chocolate adventure and the Cadabra ride.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for another visit that is choc-full of fun :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadbury World also viewed

 

Been to Cadbury World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing