We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dezzajuk”
Review of Lavenham Greyhound

Lavenham Greyhound
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at 'Stock & Bailey' at The Greyhound we offer a delicious range of European small plates with plenty of gluten free & vegetarian dishes. Choose from our sharing platters, tapas dishes, small plates and paella. Pair these dishes with our great 'Stock & Bailey' wine selection. A selection of fresh coffees & desserts are available too.
Reviewed 20 August 2021

Had a late lunch here today. The concept, atmosphere, setting, menu and service were fantastic. But the food didn't live up to expectation!
Lentil Greek salad was delicious, but deep-fried calamari was greasy and not crisp. And the fennel and orange salad lacked a contrast in flavour and intensity. Underwhelmed by watery iceberg lettuce and little or no dressing. Tripple fried chips were under cooked, definitely appeared and tasted like they were double fried or frozen.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Dezzajuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

A great little place with a nice tapas menu. The owner (or at least who I thought was the owner), was engaging and attentive and the Tapas menu had a great selection and our group all enjoyed their food. The waitresses were very hard working and dealing with a busy lunch time (to be honest they could have done with an extra pair of hands). All in all a nice place and I would go back if in Lavenham.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank M_TripA_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

The kitchen staff here are let down by the front of house. The food was really great, couldn’t fault it and it would have been a 5 if the score had been based on that aspect alone.

Ordered drinks, no show for some time. Got the feeling it’s one of those places where you constantly need to catch the staff’s attention to move things along. Wouldn’t say it was that busy at the time either with 5 front of house staff.

In the end had to go to the bar to request service after waiting for an age. Where the staff were grouped having a chat.

Great food if you’re OK with slow forgetful service.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank strikeeagle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Stopped for Sunday lunch and having seen the Yorkshire puddings had to go for the beef. When I asked for horseradish sauce the lady returned very apologetic saying they had run out however, clutching a £5 note said she was going to pop to the local shop, within a couple of minutes a pot of sauce was delivered to my table which made my lunch. Exceptional service from all the happy staff. Great lunch Many thanks

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2021

We called in for lunch with friends . Ordered tapas dishes and was not disappointed .
Found the staff friendly and helpful .

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElaineC2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Lavenham Greyhound also viewed

Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 
Long Melford, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Lavenham Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.