We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
354
323
81
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
323
81
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub car park fire doors river view welsh bridge sunday night bottled water biscuits hotel guests no lift family room lady on reception nice room ideal location town centre good size stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Staff was very helpful room comfortable but a little on the small size . It also over
looked a pizza takeaway and Indian restaurant which stayed open till 1-30 am don't get rooms 109or 209 . Apart from being quite warm the food and drink were keenly priced

Room Tip: Request 1st floor front or family room
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Barry B

Thank you for your review it was lovely to hear you had a fun weekend

Gail and the Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We always like to try JD Wetherspoons pubs in which ever location we find ourselves. So when we we had booked to see a show in Shrewsbury for my birthday, we thought is was a chance to try a Wetherspoons hotel. With the theatre one side of the "Welsh bridge" The Shrewsbury Hotel is conveniently placed on the opposite bank. The car park is for guests only . We were greeted by very pleasant reception staff , check in was easily done. Our room was very clean, but extremely "cosy" tea/coffee facilities plentiful with proper mugs! soap,shampoo, body wash in loo/shower. Could have done with a little more room, cat did not get it's usual exercise!
No concessions for using the pub down stairs down stairs at all, It would have been a nice touch, Dearer than the Premier Inn 300yds away. We wanted to try it, we have now and will have to think hard before trying another.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank rgvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Good morning

Many thanks for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you
again in the near future.

Kind Regards: Jane & the Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Welcoming, friendly staff. Good standard of comfort and cleanliness. Room 102 has a spacious bathroom but the bedroom is a bit on the small side, with no drawers for putting clothes away. Small TV mounted high on the wall did not tilt, so viewing from bed made the picture dark from the angle looking up at the flat screen.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank fredf356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear FredF356

Thank you for your review and for pointing out the problem with the TV we can now try to get that sorted thanks to your help

Gail and the Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Beware.....you park on the car park, spend over 12 quid for a couple of breakfasts and coffee, stay for about an hour.....week later receive a fine of up to £75.00 quid! Great way to entice customers.....see ya......never to return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Richard F

Thank you for your review
Our car park is for paying Guests staying in the hotel and staff only it clearly states this on the signage in the car park.

Gail and the Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Excellent in every way- a beautiful room overlooking the river,it was spotlessly clean, beds really comfortable. There were bottles of water and great tea making facility. It was great value for money, really close to shops . Staff brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank LesleyTrios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at The Shrewsbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Lesley Trios

Thank you for all your lovely comments hope to see you again very soon

Gail and the Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews