We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
343
443
253
85
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
443
253
85
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charles dickens hayward restaurant creaky floorboards car park historic hotel coaching inn travelzoo voucher wyle cop lovely old hotel old building glass of prosecco steeped in history on site parking centre of town lots of character course meal high street
Filter
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015

It was a real pleasure to have a two night stay at this well run hotel. Well positioned in the middle of Shrewsbury with good value car parking. Efficient, quick registration, well appointed room with tea making facilities,
well stocked toiletries. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent food with imaginative menu.

, with really good food.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foh14, General Manager at The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent visit to the Lion Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and we really do appreciate your kind comments that the Lion is organised and managed well, this will be relayed to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lion on your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Kind Regards

Richard Jones-Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Delightful stay at this famous old Inn and Hotel with its beautiful Adam ballroom and atmospheric bars all in a spacious rambling 16th century building. Staff were friendly and efficient and the food at the very pleasant restaurant, Haywards was considerably better than we expected.
We had a very comfortable room with plenty of space and traditional furniture but with modern facilities and decent showers. Right in the centre of this famous old market town we couldn't think of anywhere better to stay. Londonmanstan

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Londonmanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foh14, General Manager at The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderfull review further to your recent visit to the Lion Hotel.

Your kind comments relating to the history of the Lion and experience in Hayward Restaurant are very much appreciated and will be relayed to the team.

We lok forward to welcoming you back to the Lion on your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Kind Regards

Richard Jones-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Very helpful and friendly staff, special thanks to Chris from the reception. Good location. The service was great and the breakfast delicious. One of the best restaurant in Shrewsbury.The rooms should be renovated.

Room Tip: Rooms are facing to the main road are noisier
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Наталья А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foh14, General Manager at The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent visit to the Lion Hotel.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed the restaurant and the level of customer serice you received met your expectations, especially Chris!. Your kind comments will be forwarded onto the team.

I am delighted to inform you that we are presently refurbishing the bedrooms and hotel corridors with my internal Maintenance team.

I look forward to welcomimg you back to the Lion on your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Kind Regards

Richard Jones-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

This gorgeous hotel and the delightful staff made our stay here a highlight. Absolutely nothing to fault with the room, decor, bed quality, provisions in the room; it was top class all the way. The lounge rooms and dining room were wonderful also; easy to picture Charles Dickens and Darwin walking the corridors and lounging in the comfy sofas.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cshanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foh14, General Manager at The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent visit to the Lion Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed the fascinating history of the Lion and that your overall experience met your expectations. Your kind comments relating to the staff are also very much appreciated and will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lion Hotel on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards

Richard Jones-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The hotel was absolutely amazing, the food was delicious and especially breakfast because it was very organized and quick. The rooms were always clean by the time we got back from our outings. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, one of them being Chris who gave us easy directions to all the places we wanted to go. Plus Beth and Irene who gave us recommendations for restaurants which were all lovely and me and my family had a lovely time at all places.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foh14, General Manager at The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your recent visit to the Lion Hotel.

Your kind comments are really appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed the experience of the Lion and the high standard of customer service you received. Thank you for singling out Beth, Irene and Chris for their attentive customer service, your kind comments will be passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lion on your next visit to Shrewsbury.

Kind Regards

Richard Jones-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews