We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveller rating
576
436
211
107
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
436
211
107
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking chambers restaurant royalist restaurant on arrival suits of armour complimentary sherry upgraded to a suite fish street cobbled street modern bathroom lovely hotel sat nav car park four poster bed central location old building one way system
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The staff were very attentive and the room was brilliant. We were looked after and breakfast was brilliant. Very well located for the town centre. The hotel offered valet parking as no carpark onsite. Would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 19vicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Matthews, Owner at Prince Rupert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and may I convey my sincere appreciation for your outstanding five star review.

Thank you also for your wonderful praise of the staff who all work with the common denominator of serving and providing a high level of warm hospitality towards our guests.

Just to clarify, the hotel has its own private car park which is a few minutes walk from the hotel. For ease, we provide complimentary valet parking for all those guests wishing to use our car parking service.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince Rupert at some point in the future.

With kindest regards,

Mike Matthews
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed, with friends at the Prince Rupert for a weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We certainly did not feel that this had the standard of a four star hotel. The room was dark and small, and the décor was distressed. The window only had large dark drapes, with no other window covering, which as the room looked out onto the street gave us some privacy issues. Our friends room was even worse with a loud buzzing noise coming from outside. Their window looked out onto a scruffy concrete wall. We asked if we could be moved to other rooms, but were told that the hotel was full, and the only thing they could offer was a full refund, and that we could look for another hotel. Not what you want to hear at 6 o clock on a Friday night after travelling for thee and a half hours to get there. We were told that because we had booked with Bookings .com, that was why we were given the inferior rooms. If you are looking for a bargain break don't book this hotel on the internet. As we were leaving the owner met us and asked us about our concerns. He asked four our E mail address which we duly supplied. He said he would be in touch, it has now been a week since our visit and still no contact, NO SURPRISE THERE, in a word disappointing.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank phil186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed at the Prince Rupert for my 70th birthday treat, the experiance from the very arrival was perfect with our cars being taken away and parked in a safe private carpark. The rooms were very well appointed and the staff were very good. We had a simply fantastic dinner which was made even more pleasurable by my two grandsons receiving extra ordinary attention from the waiters who were fantastic.
The hotel is well placed for visiting many highlights of the area and we shall certainly have a return visit.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank graham_hadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Very dissapointed with room, needs a drastic upgrade ,overlooked a roof and a wall and this was an upgraded room one thing was good was the bathroom, wont be going back until they do a facelift, Shrewsbury was lovely

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank richardSouthWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Have stopped here a few times now and highly recommend to anyone who wants value for money , superb staff , excellent food ,
Myself and my wife stopped for a night and again were not disappointed . Had a super stay fantastic breakfast and was treated with total respect from all the staff ,they really can't do enough for you whatever time of day. The rooms are well maintained comftable and warm.

Room tip: Every room we have been in has been superb
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank philip e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews