We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning coffee, incredible food and excellent service. Will be back.”
Review of Tamper Coffee

Tamper Coffee
Ranked #48 of 1,569 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tamper Sellers wheel is located 2 minute walk from Sheffield train station and the city centre. We have a great inside/outside eating area in a grade 2 listed, silversmiths building, along with a take away bar. We pride ourselves on our New Zealand roots, everything we do is centred around this, great coffee, great food (Locally sourced)and a bar serving NZ wines and a large selection of craft beers. We have a private meeting room and hold private functions.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a brunch! A varied menu with some great Kiwi choices. Decent sized portions of high quality food with exceptional coffee. The smoothie was vibrant and zingy and service with a smile. Definitely worth a revisit!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 533rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been loyal supporters of Tampa and always been satisfied with the food and service.
Our latest visit wasn’t up to expectations, the menu has changed so I and three others in our party picked the bacon & egg sarnie.
When the meal arrived first thing we noticed was the bread bap was black not burnt it was coloured black, we were informed that the chef uses squid ink to colour the bread mix. The bacon was over salty and overall the dish didn’t look appertising.
Sorry Tampa not for us, we will be back to try other dishes.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kevintW8535ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2021

It was our first time at Tamper and we’re already planning a next visit for when we’re in Sheffield! We had a superbly friendly server who made us laugh all the way through. We also tried very refreshing juices and were in awe of both the salmon Eggs Benedict and the Prosciutto and Avocado crostini! We were a little too full for dessert which was a shame, but we cannot wait to try it next time!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank N2183CCmartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

Chef wouldn’t add an egg to our meal which was odd.

Ordered the Sweetcorn cakes/fritter dish which was £9 and was served 4 very small cubes of sweet potato that didn’t leave a great impression. Only Mayo and balsamic vinegar was served with the very small cubes - so overly priced. Partner ordered mushrooms on toast which he had before (previously enjoyable). Everything was cold and dripping in oil. Waitress didn’t ask how our food was, I think she anticipated we were not impressed. Overly expensive, not tasty and a real disappointment. Coffee is still nice though.

Would not go again - such a shame as our first experience was great.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Relax37013126671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2021

Chef would not remove sundried tomatoes from a dish as “the chef does not like to make changes”

Chef would not serve sauce on the side for the same reason.

Two other dishes unavailable.

Server patronised us after eating the food we ordered by saying “oh well done so you would eat fresh tomatoes” .. when sun dried were asked to be removed.

Complained via email several weeks ago with no response.. hence bad review.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank anniecV2858FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Tamper Coffee also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Tamper Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.