We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant family meal”
Review of Browns

Browns
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 19/09
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #204 of 1,569 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at Browns Sheffield. Standing proud on the corner of St Paul’s Parade, Browns Sheffield is housed in a handsome red-brick building that was formerly the city’s Army & General Stores. Whilst situated at the heart of the city centre, it occupies a tranquil spot, overlooking the Peace Gardens – an award-winning communal space with water features and public art displays. From dinner and afternoon tea to à la carte, our menu delivers fresh and seasonal dishes to suit any occasion, whilst our exceptional drinks range, including classic and contemporary cocktails, global wines and artisan spirits, provides reason enough to relax and unwind at our welcoming bar.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good starters, but slightly mixed main courses. Chicken schnitzel was excellent. Waitress handled our concern with the pasta course for our daughters really nicely, and offered an alternative. They enjoyed the brownie dessert. Very pleased with service from Charlie our waitress.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank J1982XTdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a Saturday night with my boyfriend. Had originally booked to go to The Furnace but the meals looked small so changed my mind and I’m glad I did!!
Last came to Browns a year ago and it did not disappoint..it was even better!
The restaurant was busy and I thought the service maybe slow but I was wrong!
Drinks arrived quickly and so did the food.
We opted for bread to start. I had the pork main and my boyfriend had the fish and chips. For dessert we asked the waitress what she recommended and we went for the caramel biscuit torte and the chocolate velvet bomb.
Everything tasted amazing! The torte doesn’t look anything special but it was delicious.
The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere.
We had a lovely waitress called Courtney she was so attentive and friendly. In fact probably the best waitress we’ve ever had..what a credit to the team!
We got £10 off the bill as we signed up to the app and for all the food and 2 proseccos and 2 beers it was £72 which we thought was really reasonable!
Can’t wait to come back! I think I’ll try the steak and lobster next time!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Cuttsy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cuttsy29, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! I will pass on your wonderful comments to Courtney and the rest of the Team here at Browns Sheffield!

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,

Sam & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Waitress Charmaine was very welcoming and attentive, amazing customer service.
Food served nice and quickly, hot and succulent, would very strongly recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank AMacquhae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Amacquhae, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Charmaine will be over the moon with your kind words!

We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Kind regards,

Sam and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service - we arrived early and were straight away given a lovely table at the bar - taken to our table very soon and our server Charlie was really helpful and looked after us in a relaxed but very professional manner - our salads were really delicious and although that’s all we had today had we been more hungry I feel sure the food would have been delicious all round - A great ambiance and as with Browns in Cambridge in the past , Brown’s Sheffield does not disappoint- thank you

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sally G, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to Charlie and the team here at Browns Sheffield!

Until the next time we meet, take care!

Sam & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021 via mobile

Visiting with my hubby to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and have to say Jess n particular had been awesome.. WOW!! Food was amazing… scallops, crab salmon starters were excellent, steak pie and fish pie superb for mains… lovely afternoon spent in the sunshine and the service throughout from Jess was Wow wow wow

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank herindoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Herindoor, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us and for leaving this lovely review for Jess and the team!

We hope to see you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Hannah & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Browns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.