We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks from another party added to our bill”
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Ranked #109 of 1,619 Restaurants in Sheffield
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 June 2018

I recently visited this restaurant with my family. The meal was enjoyable but spoiled when we were presented with a bill that had a number of drinks we had neither ordered or received. I questioned this and the initial reaction from the server seemed that she doubted but as I went through the bill she realised the drinks had not been served to us. The bill was corrected but not much of an apology was given. This is a very bad error, and no one from the management team bothered to attend our table to apologise. There is an invitation at the bottom of the bill for customers to complete an online questionnaire and provide further feed back on their visit, which I did. All of my details were given including phone number. I received an email from the general manager saying she was not aware of the situation, apologising but not explaining how the bad error had occurred. The name of the server had been asked for in the review, and I gave the name as printed on the bill which the general manager disputed, I replied to the email to explain how I had this name, but no further response. My problem is with management, not the server.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Marie T, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 0114 236 2735 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We have just arrived home from the best place to eat ever, it was our sons 18th birthday and although weve been many times tonight was made extra special by the staff, the effort they went to was amazing and as a family we cant thank you enough we all thoroughly enjoyed it even more than usual thank you again xx

Thank Amorys1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Amorys

We are so happy your sons birthday was made special by the team . It so important to us that, when our guests put their trust in us to celebrate a very special occassion , we try our very best to meet their expectations. It always so rewarding to recieve feedback that allows us to monitor how where doing.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Jacquie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Went today (Saturday 23rd June) as a delayed Father's day treat.

Party of 6 plus a 30 mth old toddler and 6 mth old baby for lunch (12:30).

Seated in a private area around a large table which was great as we wouldn't get in the way of other diners with the two youngsters.

Restaurant was reasonably busy when we arrived but tended to thin out as time passed.

Service, which is usually very good, was quite slow. We waited quite a while for orders to be taken, quite a while for starters to be served and a long time thereafter for the mains to arrive - so long in fact that I went to enquire as to where the food was an hour and ten minutes after arriving (and around twenty minutes after we had finished our starters) as there was no sign of them.

Two of the starters - the cheesy garlic mushrooms - were lukewarm and the order of scallops tasted burnt (the scallops themselves weren't burnt but had picked up the flavour from somewhere).

When the mains arrived, the two sirloin steaks (which are usually cooked to perfection) were overdone - we had ordered them rare and they arrived medium. My steak as well as being overcooked was also slightly tough (again something not experienced before) and my fries were also overcooked.

When the mains arrived a member of staff apologised for the delay in the mains although no reason was given.

We decided not to have a dessert on this occasion.

We were asked by a member of the wait staff about our food during a check-back and we told him that both of our steaks were overdone. He apologised for them but that was as far as things went.

We were not approached by any other member of staff after this and we didn't ask to speak to anyone else.

Given that we visit M&C reasonably often - something like 8-10 times since they re-opened as M&C just over a year ago - this was by far and away our most disappointing experience thus far. I just hope that this isn't the start of a trend as it has been consistently good up to now - hence the 'average' rating of 3/5.

A total of two and a half hours for a starter and a main is rather a long time in any event but even more so trying to keep a 30-month youngster old entertained (thank goodness for YouTube and Peppa Pig).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hi B J, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

we take al feed back very seriously and in doing so use all guests concerns to help us focus on the areas that need improving.
We do hope you will come back again and hopefully we will be back to our usual high standards.

Kind Regards
Jacquie Lucasb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This is part of one of the better steakhouse chains with a good menu, well prepared steaks and sides. I've tried several branches and this is just as good as the others I've been tp. There's a choice of several steaks and they all come with a couple of gimmicks, "a slice of onion loaf" and a wedge of iceberg lettuce with your choice of dressings. The steak comes on a large rectangular plate with a quarter of a tomato, the onion and your choice of steak sauce. The potato, (fries or a jacket) is served separately and the lettuce wedge is brought before the main course so that you can pretend it's a salad.

If you opt for one of the smaller cuts of meat it does look a bit lost in the middle of the plate. On this occasion the steaks were cooked just as requested (although we had to send them back once at another branch). On Monday to Thursday they do a special 3 course deal on a reduced number of menu choices which works out as good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kpjwboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear kpjboro

Thank you for leaving us your feedback.
we pleased to se on the hole you enjoyed your visit, we would have welcomed any feedback that could have helped us to identify any areas that we could have gained five stars.
we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Jacquie and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

absolutely beautiful food...the service is first class..nice atmosphere and surroundings. would definately recommend this place

Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi Simone S, thank you so much for your positive comments about Miller & Carter Sheffield!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Barlborough, Chesterfield
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing