We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed!”

Miah's - Garden of Gulab
Ranked #20 of 659 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$49
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tonights takeaway ended up being a disapointment. Had the offer they were promoting on their leaflet “dinner for two” ... ended up being a dinner for one as the meal was awful. Onion bhajis were super greasy to the point i had to squeeze the oil out! The popadoms tasted rather odd like they were cooked in a weird oil as it gave you a nasty aftertaste (didnt think you could get a popadom wrong!) we had the korma... that was lovely, but the tikka masala was discusting to the point we both left it as ive never tasted a masala like it before!

Personally i dont see how they have won awards with the food we have recieved. I will definately not be going there again.

Thank laurenv2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshed M, Public Relations Manager at Miah's - Garden of Gulab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed that our food did not meet the expectations of this customer although we would point out that we receive many compliments on its quality both on Tripdvisor and take away apps such as Just Eat. We would always suggest that if a take away is not to a customer's expectation, they should contact us immediately so that we can doing something about it at the time. We cannot comment on individual issues, especially after the event, but we have invested heavily to ensure our take away food is of the same quality as if eating in the restaurant, especially as it is all cooked fresh to order. We will however take these comments on board to ensure our Dinner Box for Two is up to expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There is a reason that this place is so highly regarded. The food was very nice indeed and arrived very quickly. The service was also fantastic, very polite staff all round. Would highly recommend and will be returning very soon!

3  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshed M, Public Relations Manager at Miah's - Garden of Gulab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We look forward to this reviewer's next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited Miahs in the past and decided to pay a visit Sunday evening. Approx 830pm we walked in and was told to wait a few minutes as it was extremely busy looking through to the restaurant it was in fact half empty with loads of tables available, waiting in the small bar area no one offered us a drink instead we were greeted by a man from Reading borough council and the immigration service filling out paperwork the man from the council informed us be was there on official business.
After 10 minutes of waiting we were then taken through just pastthe bar to a table that had been hurriedly made up no condiments on the table just 2 knives and forks, still no drink offered and the wider came over three the menus on the table and walked off after a further 5 minutes he came over asked if we wanted popppdums and before I could order a drink again be walked off. I decided at that point the service was ot acceptable and even if your have immigration on site you should have been professional and even more courteous. We got up and walked out.
When I got home I phoned ro make a complaint and the staff just kept saying we got your poppadoms they could not understand the issue.
So overall not a good visit

Thank SidariRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshed M, Public Relations Manager at Miah's - Garden of Gulab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We apologize that if, on this occasion, we took our eye off the ball and did not deliver our customary high level of service to this customer. In defence of our staff we can only say that visits from officialdom are often stressful as they believe that everything should stop for them, irrespective of whether customers are waiting to be served. We will however be reviewing the way our staff deal with such situations in the future although thankfully, these occasions are very rare and usually take place outside service hours. We trust that this reviewer will give us another opportunity to provide the service that we believe they deserve and should expect to receive, whatever distractions there may be at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I ate on a Sunday night at Miah’s Garden of Gulab (what a weird name!), purely on the strength of their TA reviews, and had the rather chill experience of being literally the only customer throughout my visit. I still had a very good meal, competently cooked, swiftly and efficiently served, and at good prices – but inevitably the atmosphere was entirely lacking. So, perfectly acceptable, absolutely no complaints, and I’d eat there again if I were hungry and close by; but no plaudits, either.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rickanstis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshed M, Public Relations Manager at Miah's - Garden of Gulab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

To clear up the name, Garden of Gulab takes its name from Asia's largest rose garden, which is home to over 50,000 rose trees.We understand this reviewer's comments about atmosphere but traditionally Sunday night is very quiet (probably too many good things on the telly and the need to get up for work the following day!). However we always seek to offer a great dining experience whenever you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I don't write reviews at all, but the service we received was great, as was the food! Up there with one of the best curries we've ever had, just a shame I wasn't feeling well so couldn't eat it all. But it gives me a better excuse to return!
The staff were very attentive, especially Rahman! We will definitely be back, thank you!
P.S the mini bottle of Prosecco was a lovely touch :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Codgiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshed M, Public Relations Manager at Miah's - Garden of Gulab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We thank this reviewer for taking the time to let others know of their good experience and we certainly look forward to welcoming them again when we hope they are feeling better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miah's - Garden of Gulab also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Miah's - Garden of Gulab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing