We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great birthday meal”

Browns Brasserie and Bar
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 18/09
20:00
Ranked #74 of 636 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$11 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Browns ReadingRubbing shoulders with chic boutiques and vibrant galleries, Browns Reading is the perfect place to soak up the cultural buzz of Berkshire’s well-connected hub.Whether at work or play, Browns offers a uniquely relaxing atmosphere. Unwind over a plate of freshly cooked, modern food. Start your weekend in style with one of our expertly mixed cocktails. Or reward the day’s efforts with a glass of what you fancy from our well-chosen wine and beer rangeLook at the map and our contact details to see how to find us.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great birthday meal for all the family and a good wine selection too. I recommend it to anyone for a good evening out.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank K4651RPjonathanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

K4651rpjonathanp, we are so happy to read such a great review about Browns Reading! especially on a celebration meal. Thanks for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first visit to Brown’s Reading exceeded our expectations. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was great! Our waitress Gavi was very friendly and helpful. We would certainly go back again!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 436fawazm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

436fawazm, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive first experience at Browns Reading. I will forward your comments to the team and especially Gavi, hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Reading & Gavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Serving staff was not a very professional, to the point of putting their foot on a chair at our table to sort out there socks, whilst taking our order. Food was not very good, The chicken Shnitzel flavouring was very overpowering as we could not eat it. The egg on that dish looked like it was from a greasy spoon, all burnt and crispy white of egg. The rib eye steak was warm and not hot like it should have been. Optional Service charge already included in the bill plus bottom of receipt folded over as to hide the fact it was optional.

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 890Robert76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

890robert76, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

As for the service charge there are numerous places this is highlighted for our quest, at the bottom of every menu and clearly stated at the bottom of all bills, it is standard practice to present the bills folded and in no way intended to decive our guests.

Kindest regards,
David
Browns Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excruciatingly slow service, us and the table next to us were continually waiting to order drinks, having to flag down the waiter repeatedly. Drinks were good, bar staff were very good. Our waiter openly laughed at me for not wanting a sauce with my steak - I paid for a more expensive cut so that I could have it rare, and I like the taste…! Felt embarrassed and like I was being belittled. Starters were really really good, delicious calamari and scallops. However chicken schnitzel was cooked in olive oil which had burnt so the whole thing was tainted. Steak was cooked really well, salad garnish was a bit boring, but the actual steak was good. This was our first proper date night since Covid for our anniversary.
I really wanted to order a dessert, but we were waiting so long that we just got our bill and left.

Date of visit: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Hezi012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.
I would like to get some more details about your experience with us, please call us on 01189503137.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely breakfast, food was 10 out of 10 as well as the service. Our waitress, Athena was so helpful, friendly & polite. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 161jemmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Brasserie and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie and Bar also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Browns Brasserie and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.