We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and fantastic service”

Giggling Squid Henley
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Henley is one of the most welcoming towns we have ever opened a restaurant in. Everyone was so supportive. We even got a letter from the MP! The old timber frame scrubbed up beautifully and our fresh take on Thai food went down very well, so word spread quickly. Soon we were very busy. After a few “helpful” comments however we made some additions to our wine list which went down well with customers and our wine supplier (“are they washing the floor with Cloudy Bay?” he asked my husband one day).
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had such a lovely family dinner out at the Giggling Squid in Henley! Big thanks to the amazing Jerome who was so attentive and smiley (even through the mask) Incredible food as always, highly recommend! Thank you for making me giggle Jerome you made the dinner with the rents a lot more relaxing

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank KatLund12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigglingSquid, Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Katlund12x,

Aww Kat what a lovely message to read. We are very proud that we have Jerome part of our Henley team - you just need to watch our for his jokes!!!

Thank you for taking the time to support us by writing us such a great review.

Laura
laura@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn’t have asked for better service by Jerome, welcoming, polite, friendly and funny. The food was fantastic, the squid and sticky chicken are personal favourites. Tried the steak this time and was not disappointed. Fantastic.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 361grantn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigglingSquid, Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 361grantn,

Every restaurant needs a Jerome! Our resident cheeky chappy - he always does his best to make sure everyone is having a lovely time. Thank you for taking the time to support us by writing such a great review.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Laura
laura@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely meal with hubby as first timers to this restaurant chain. Lovely old building full of character and a 2 min walk through the almshouses from our hotel du vin.
Starters amazing, main meal nice but my husbands massaman was to die for!
Grapefruit gin went lovely with my seafood dishes.
New staff in house but very friendly. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Fiona1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigglingSquid, Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fiona1974_11,.
I
Thank you for writing such a detailed review - I don't think I could have written a better review myself! . I always think Henley is like the Tardis, you don't realise how big it is until you are in there.....and the grapefruit gin and seafood is a perfect pairing too!!!

Try the Pad cha which is a seafood dish which refers to the practise of making the wok so hot that when you add the ingredients they literally explode - its what makes the dish so tasty!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Khob khun kha,
Laura
laura@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another lovely lunch at the Giggling Squid. The lunchtime menu is very reasonable. Lovely attentive and friendly service from Jerome. Will be back soon.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank sheenao229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigglingSquid, Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sheenao229,

Thank you for taking the time to support us by writing such a great review. The tapas menu is the best way to try all the dishes on the menu! Thank you for championing Jerome. He is such an asset to our team and we are very proud to have him!

Laura
laura@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021 via mobile

All staff polite and attentive. Big shout out to Jerome who was great and very friendly! Every restaurant needs a jerome!
Food was amazing as always, definitely my fave place to go with friends and family!
Was very Covid secure and felt safe.
We weren’t judged by the amount of starters we ordered so big thumbs up

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigglingSquid, Owner at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Kate R,

I too wish I had a Jerome in every restaurant!!! Thank you for taking the time to write us such an amazing review. Please come back soon and order as many starters as you like. Top tip - you can have more starters instead of dessert if you like :) !!

Laura
laura@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giggling Squid Henley also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Giggling Squid Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.