We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
120
40
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
40
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the classic opulent apartment pheasant inn versace glamour the barn kielder water french apartment kielder observatory main bedroom local pub amazing kitchen large kitchen mobile phone reception power shower self catering log fire few tweaks hot water
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Good, thoughtfully arranged accommodation that suited our family of 4. We stayed in the french bourgeois. In general very pleasant although becoming dated and some repairs needed. There is a small field for the kids to kick a ball about, full of rabbits by nightfall. Noise (foot steps) from the floor above disturbed us in the morning, but otherwise an excellent night's sleep. Expect to pay £8 for a basket of logs. We ate at that the pheasant Inn, a small , a cosy pub nearby, although there is a closer pub within a minute's walk . A good base for attraction sin the areas including Hadrian's Wall (Housesteads). We would stay again.

Room tip: Stay above the french bourgeois!
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RHqualityagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickey F, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our annual update has now been completed on this apartment and Visit Britain have once again appointed it 5* Gold award. Delighted you enjoyed the local World Heritage award attraction of Hadrian's Wall and that the children enjoyed outdoor play opportunities. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

It was perfect. We wanted somewhere remote to explore the countryside, and the barn is very comfortable and well kitted out. We stayed in the French Bourgeois. Highly recommend and might even come back next year.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aoifeg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickey F, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Thanks also for your high recommendation. Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Helen for an amazingly wonderful stay in the medieval romantic!
My partner booked the barn for us as a surprise trip to the observatory.
We unfortunately landed on Tuesday 27th and ended up getting snowed in!
Staying another night wasn’t a problem and you made us feel so welcome.
Helen was amazing she even helped dig our car out today!
Thank you so much we definitely wouldn’t have gotten out without all your help.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marley u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickey F, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the extra special service our team member was able to offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Wonderful place to stay, lots of room and the Large Kitchen with the AGA was great to all sit down with lots of wine and enjoy great food and company together.
Local Pub is literally a two minute walk away and has a roaring wood burning fire. A five minute drive takes you to the Pheasant where the meals are exceptionally good also.
But the Farmhouse has all the amenities that you could wish for and has two sitting rooms with large wood fires to keep you happy and snug as a bug.
Or as my son also put it - "Did you put a pin in the middle of nowhere and then put another pin into the middle of that pin to find this place" So yes its also true that there is not a great deal around this area plus Mobile phone reception 9is non - existent, which in my book makes it an ideal destination !!

Room tip: We had variuos family members arriving through the week and they all had their own bedrooms - ideal for a large extended family gathering.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommymuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickey F, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Delighted you enjoyed both the solitude and convenience in terms of access to local amenities. Getting away from it all is what we offer and it would seem your party both engaged in and enjoyed the opportunity of this offer. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

been here twice with the girls it is an amazing place going back again in october this year. the rooms are amazing we had the four suites i was in the versace this time we are renting the whole place including the farmhouse

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickey F, Owner at Falstone Barns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Great that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews