We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of Greyhound

Greyhound
Ranked #23 of 588 Restaurants in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Couldn’t fault the experience tonight. The food and drinks were a little slow coming out but very good quality once it arrived at the table

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Maps390125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Maps390125, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback about your recent visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visit The Greyhound regularly with friends and family.
Good food, good value for money and excellent staff.
Keeps up the good work everyone!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katier170
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Katier170, thank you for sharing your positive experience! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were family members meeting up for a meal for the first time 'in ages'. A little apprehensive and perhaps a little 'out of practice' in eating out we were unsure of what impact the recent months may have had on staff morale, food quality and overall service.

We need not have worried as from start to finish the welcome, the service and the food were all 'first class'.

Starters were served and enjoyed, Garlic mushrooms and koftas stood no chance. Mains were equally enjoyed with a particular mention for the chicken and leek pie and its lovely soft pastry. A final pat on the back for the Apple & Blackberry crumble, we were so glad we chose it, demolished with two spoons, none was left.

The service was excellent and many thanks to Jodie and Anton for their friendliness, conversation and humour, they are both a credit to your team.

It was a great evening.

We will be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Tim M, we are very happy we could provide you with a positive experience! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at The Greyhound! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub looked welcoming and friendly. We stood for a good 5 minutes awkwardly in the doorway whilst 2 staff members were doing something with the till. One of the ladies did acknowledge us and say “be with you in a minute guys” but it was not a good start really. We were shown to our table and drinks ordered but it was obvious that they were short staffed and what staff they did have were poorly organised. It took an age for the drinks to come and we could see the tray on the bar with waitresses walking past it. Both the red wine and white wine that we ordered weren’t available so we had to choose alternatives. The food came and 2 of the starters were good but my special of crispy cauliflower wings was inedible. It was Luke warm, tasteless and not at all crispy. To me it appeared as if it had been microwaved. Main course were OK but not that special and the duck was Luke warm. A second round of drinks took for ever to come. Our waitress was very helpful and pleasant but the whole experience was poor and I won’t be going back

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank CaroleN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Carolen711, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like an opportunity to make this up to you. If you are willing, please get in contact with us at 6194@greeneking.co.uk. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for my daughters bday. Food was good, staff went over and above to make it special, took down decs for table and looked amazing when we arrived. Thank you to all the staff for a great night.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank J2365MKjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

J2365mkjod, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Greyhound! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greyhound also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Weedon, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.