We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
144
170
76
40
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
170
76
40
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmews roomscity centreexcellent locationyork minsterper daycar parkbootham bartea and coffeejust round the cornerfull englishlovely bathroomtop floorfew minutes walkcooked breakfastsingle roomvisit yorkbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

A lovely room £96 for the night worth every penny. Modern bathroom nicely decorated room. Will use again as it’s very central. Immaculately clean and nicely presented. Only down side is towels could do with replacing.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Goldenboy943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Very happy to secure this hotel at the last minute for a long weekend in York. We got a family style room so up to 3 beds, but ended up being a double and single. Large room in an old mansion. Smallish bathroom but what you need. Tea and biscuits provided. We did not opt for having breakfast in the hotel. Staff was not overly friendly, but it was fine. They did store our things since our room wasn't ready, but they seemed stored out in plain sight which was a little unnerving. Other than that, a fine place to rest.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

This was iur second stay here, the first was around 5 years ago. Since our last visit the ace looks to have had a full refit and has been redecorated. Great rooms, friendly helpfull staff and the owner is a really nice guy. Only cost £49 for a double room on a Sunday night, which I booked through Booking.com. I will probably book direct next time. We will definitely be returning here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank greedigut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Georgian House. Our first was great, the parking was convenient and the staff very helpful, and the room cozy, so we didn’t hesitate to book again for our next trip.

This time the parking was full, but the staff were helpful as ever and pointed us to a huge car park 5 minutes down the road, and gave us a permit for the stay (we just gave the attendant the permit number when we left). This hotel is great value for the location, and the rooms are nicely decorated, with a really nice en suite. This time we stayed in the mews rooms at the back of the hotel, which meant we had peace and quiet at night.

Unfortunately 2 things really ruined the experience for us this time, which is a shame. For one, the mattress in our room was absolutely awful. It was as though an elephant has been sat in the middle for a year, and the springs were that weak that you could feel the hard bed underneath. Because it dipped so much in the middle we didn’t sleep much and we both left with back ache. On the way out we were told that new mattresses had been ordered, but I’m surprised that a mattress that damaged has been kept in the room so long.

The other issue was a slip up on check in where my fiancée was asked to pay for the room, which she did, only to realise later that she had already prepaid with booking.com. We found a note in the room to apologise and saying they’d refunded the money, but sadly the payment still had to go through, so we were almost £200 down for a day before the refund came through and it meant my fiancée was almost overdrawn. We could’ve noticed this too, but would’ve thought the staff had noticed the prepay on check in and saved us a lot of stress.

Still we had a nice trip and it’s great being so close to the centre of York, the gorgeous weather helped too. Unfortunately unless we can be sure the bedding is all updated I doubt we will be coming back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Fantastic location in the middle of all the attractions. Walking distance from train station. Excellent breakfast - help yourself to cereals, yoghurt, fruit, hot drinks, fruit juice whilst they cook you a full English breakfast with locally sourced ingredients. Rooms very comfortable and bathroom with shower very clean. Shower was lovely and hot with complimentary gel and shampoos. Kettle with milk, coffee, Yorkshire tea bags and biscuits provided in room. We strayed in attic room which was compact but great. Hair dryer provided too. Tv in room as well. Limited parking but very helpful in accommodating our car. Would highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Winding staircase to attic room would not suit someone with mobility problems
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johannaharrison08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews