We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks tired now”

National Railway Museum
Ranked #1 of 213 things to do in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a fantastic day out for the whole family in York, visit the award winning National Railway Museum. Get up close to over 300 years of fascinating history in York's only National Museum. Explore our giant halls full of trains and railway legends including the majestic Duchess of Hamilton, step on to the futuristic Japanese Bullet Train or marvel at the stunning opulence of the Royal Trains. Get on board awe-inspiring locomotives, watch our engineers at work in the Workshop, uncover hidden treasures in the Warehouse and make tracks to the outdoor area. The children can let off steam in our outdoor play area, and our miniature railway ride is perfect for the whole family. Every weekend and throughout the school holidays, the kids can enjoy a lively programme of events, including science shows, story telling, steam rides, craft activities and special events. Please note that calls to our listed phone number (0844...) cost 4.25p per minute plus your phone company's access charge.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly the exhibits are first class and a superb representation of railway history in the UK.
However, the location and environment they are displayed in is gloomy, tired and has seen better days. I'm a lifelong rail enthusiast and it was so sad to see such a depressing environment to showcase Britain's rail history.
I've visited the museum a number of times in my lifetime, the last being about 10 years ago. It always seemed an awe inspiring visit, but not this time. I visited May 2018 with my family and this time we couldn't see past the really dark interior with poor electric lighting and little natural light and almost no interaction or education. I appreciate it is in an old North Eastern Railway roundhouse, but some cleaning and modern lighting would help us see the exhibits better. There is also very little information about each exhibit. I think the fact that it is free is probably its downfall as they have little money to make the museum fit for the 21st Century. If you want to see a railway museum that does it all so much better then visit Steam in Swindon. Also, although not trains, the Tank Museum in Dorset is an example of a modern museum that inspires and educates far better than the NRM, while introducing more interaction for the visitor. I doubt I'd return to the NRM while it is in its current state. If you're in York for other reasons it's worth a quick look but I wouldn't recommend a visit just for this.

1  Thank IDACheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"flying scotsman"
in 1,143 reviews
"royal carriages"
in 632 reviews
"love trains"
in 201 reviews
"bullet train"
in 448 reviews
"free entry"
in 942 reviews
"train enthusiasts"
in 276 reviews
"steam engine"
in 218 reviews
"station hall"
in 177 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 275 reviews
"all ages"
in 1,019 reviews
"main hall"
in 193 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 852 reviews
"on display"
in 458 reviews
"free attraction"
in 168 reviews
"rainy day"
in 207 reviews
"few hours"
in 481 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 321 reviews
Filter

137 - 141 of 15,296 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant half day at the museum. So much to see and do. Very good value lovely knowledgeable staff XX

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it! First time I've been in years but it didn't disappoint. Still awe inspiring engines, and some fantastic pieces of history. The donation of £5 is perfectly reasonable, but the museum is free if you don't have change which is nice because I could come back day after day!

There's also a good spot on a balcony overlooking York Station where you can get a good view of incoming and outgoing trains.

A good way to spend a few hours, would highly recommend you make it a part of your York visit. There's a shuttle from York minster for 3 quid or it's about 20 mins walk.

Thank KungPaoCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Railway Museum in early May 2018. Its within walking distance of downtown York. There was no admission fee but donations are welcome. We spent the entire afternoon seeing the exhibits, the different locomotives, carriages and model railway. Even saw them turn a locomotive on the turn table. There are also specific talks given through out the day. There is lots of history to see for anybody interested in railways. I am a bit of a railway nut so I was in my glory. The volunteers were great and answered most of my questions (except for a real technical one that the volunteer had never thought about before) There are food facilities on site as well. I highly recommend this museum.

Thank hlake2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent large collection of trains and train related memorabilia. A fantastic selection of interesting objects for adults and activities for children.

Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Railway Museum also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to National Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing