We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Bloomsbury(York)(Great Value!)
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bowman's(York)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,686)
Filter reviews
2,686 results
Traveller rating
797
1,106
523
165
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
1,106
523
165
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolx boxseparate toiletsofa bedexecutive roomcar parkhalf termreception areagood sizeper dayreception staffoverlooking the rivercoffee machineclifford's toweryork centrefamily roomwalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,686 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took taxi to hotel from rail station as had luggage - £6.00 for two was acceptable. Hotel is within walking distance to the main town attractions (nicest along the riverside and through the park pasisng all the geese - don't approach if they have youngsters!) and has some very nice restaurants and pubs close by too.

Efficient check in, nice staff explained the facilities. Quiet room requested for 3 nt stay, offered 4th floor at front (lift to all floors) and nice to say no noise issues though rear rooms (river view) may be even better prospect. Most noise was from other guests in the corridors, not from outside...... V pleased with room, all perfectly clean, bed linen was fine and mattress v comfortable, decor nice and modern. Bathroom well appointed, with seperate toilet.

Good breakfasts - buffett style with cereals, continental option (cheeses, meats, rye breads), juices, fresh fruits, yoghurts plus hot range kept refreshed and a clean service area.

Used the pool a couple of times, plenty of towels but note the changing is shared by all users with only two cubicles and one shower though and no toilets - you have to leave the pool area. Pool area clean, nice view over river on the poolside benches too. No spa etc so not a full leisure suite but fine for some excercise.

Ate in the hotel on first night - very pleased and would be happy to do so again as service and quality of dishes a good standard for reasonable price for the meal.

Had a good rate for the stay and would be v pleased to use again when in York

Room Tip: River view quietest rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gonelocal,

Thank you for reviewing the Novotel York Centre.

I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities and service and I appreciate the detail in your feedback.

We should hopefully be adding some toilets to the pool area in the coming months.

Thanks again for your review and we will be pleased to welcome you back again when in York.

Regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in room 116 on June 15th , my wife and I found it to be not clean enough ! Not well hoovered at ALL ! Dirty bed sheets / with stains and looked in a very poor conditions ! As for the bed was not confortable enough ! We had to request the changes of bed sheets and properly hoove the carpet , it was done during our second day ! Then every day we had to as for the bathroom aminities as they did fotget to provide them ! And even one day they put an empty shampoo ! Anyway it was a real saga of bad housekeeping all the way ! Breakfast is VERY POOR INDEED and I will not have enough space to describe the unacceptable poor product and the very poor service ! The bar too , you have to do your own service and in particular to be patient for waiting a long time and the missing items !!!!! as well as the very poor quality of food served !!!!!! There is a lot of improvements to be made in all aspects of the hotel industry and GUESTS SATISFACTION ......

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting your thoughts I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I believe you spoke to our Food & Beverage manager about requiring a re-clean and extra amenities in your room which was done. I don't believe any mention of your experience with the bar or restaurant was mentioned so I am surprised and sorry to read they were both unsatisfactory. My Food & beverage manager will contact you directly to discuss your experience.

Regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a lovely homely place for all travelers. The rooms are very comfy and beds excellent and large. all amenities v good. Courteous staff. The dinner buffet was EXCELLENT with an array of hot dishes and cold spreads too. deserts v good indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BomiPardiwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear BomiPardiwalla,

Very pleasant feedback! Thank you very much.

If we can make all our guests feel at home, we are doing something right.

Hope your next visit is just as nice.

Regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Lovely outdoor seating area next to river, room very clean, staff friendly. One problem for older people stepping in to the bath for a shower was not great. 7 mins river side walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank coopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear coopej,

Thanks for the review and thank you for staying with us at the Novotel York Centre.

I appreciate the feedback about the bath and we will work on offering rooms with walk-in showers for those in need of them.

Hope we see you again soon.

Regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Rooms large with a queen size bed. I found the bed very hard being used to memory foam and woke with a sore back each morning. Shower pressure excellent. Coffee making facilities and fridge provided. Breakfast very nice although some items were cold each morning. Coffee not the best. Staff all friendly and welcoming. Parking on site at £12.50 per night. Around a 10/15min walk into centre along the river.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Caroline H,

Glad you had a comfortable stay with us.

Our mattresses are composed of micro pocket springs and a memory foam layer which should support your back as much as possible so I am sorry if this did not work for you.

I apologise for the issues with some of the items at breakfast, I will pass this feedback to the restaurant and kitchen team for review.

Thank you for staying and for your review and we hope you return.

Regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews