We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$62
HIExpress.comUS$74
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
462
208
72
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
462
208
72
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park shopping centre stayed here third floor central location free breakfast per day beans lovely hotel good size clean hotel sofa bed comfortable room lovely staff overnight stay self service coach trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2022

Katie was extremely pleasant and very helpful, she is an absolute asset to the hiex team. Hotel is lovely, all the little touches make the hotel what it is, definitely be back. Hotel is clean, all the staff are fantastic, food was really good, management were awesome and very friendly

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank H779TVkerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura Telford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Hi H779TVkerrym, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review! Katie will be thrilled to hear your lovely comments as will the rest of the team. We hope you're back soon #TEAMHIEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at this hotel and can't fault it, lovely comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms, ideal for a couple of nights. The evening meal was lovely and breakfast was great, plenty of choice. The staff at this hotel were just lovely, so friendly, worked so hard and nothing was too much trouble and I say that for every staff member we encountered.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jooliec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura Telford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Hi Julie, what a wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear everything was great during your stay and the team will be thrilled to hear such lovely comments #TEAMHIEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022

We had a brilliant visit..staff absolutely amazing so friendly ..food wss delicious ...rooms very comfortable.
the staff go above & beyond..lovely smiler katie..& bobbie...Never stop running around & still.happy...Great team.work ... made our visit to Durham ..This place is highly recommended..Thanks

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JACKIE c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura Telford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Thank you for such a FAB review Jackie, we do hope to see you again in the near future #TEAMHIEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022

The staff and hotel are superb. Excellent quality from a young man called Spencer this morning.
The only disappointing part was the pull out sofa bed for my friend.
The breakfast was superb. The evening meal was beautiful and the service excellent.
We spent a pleasant evening in the bar too

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank E6772TKsandrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura Telford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

hi E6772TKsandrac, thank you for your lovely feedback. We're sorry it was not conveyed to you about having a sofa-bed room, but we hope this does not put you off returning in the future. Glad to hear you had such a great time and hope you come back soon #TEAMHIEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2022

We were away on a girlie weekend, the staff were all really help and worked very hard. Katie was very helpful and organised the staff very well. Spencer this morning was very efficient doing the breakfast cover. Thank you

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank janetbH2649GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura Telford, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Hi Janet, thank you for the amazing review. I will make sure Katie and Spencer get to hear your lovely feedback. We hope to see you again soon #TEAMHIEX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews