We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience for England vs Belgium”
Review of The Piano Works

The Piano Works
Ranked #4,089 of 24,651 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$16 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: London's only non-stop live music venue, where musicians take centre stage and only play songs requested by the audience.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with about 20 mates to watch the England vs Belgium game, which we'd booked a table for a month in advance. When we got there, they'd given us a tiny table in the corner of the room which seated 4 - very disappointing considering we booked so far in advance, and even double checked the booking multiple times.

The atmosphere, however, was brilliant. It's a really fun, buzzy place, and for an England game, it wasn't too difficult to get beers. The screens weren't HD, but there were quite a few (including 3 projector screens) in the venue, so you could see a screen from anywhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy R, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Claudia R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

All of our drinks tables are bases for the evening and we aim to seat 1 in 5 guests. As you probably saw last night, The Piano Works is in no way a seated venue, the atmosphere is like being at a gig. We do clearly explain what our drinks tables are before customers confirm, the below can also be found in the confirmation email send over after confirming;

• All of our drinking areas are a base for the evening. We aim to seat 1 in 5 people but this is not a guarantee. A typical area for a group of 15 people is a high table with 2/3 chairs.

To avoid any confusion or disappointment we also send another confirmation email a couple of days before just to go over all booking details again. The below is stated in that message;

All of our tables are a base for the game in which we aim to seat 1 in 5 guests but this is not guaranteed. A typical space for a group of 15 is 1 high table with 2/3 chairs. However, you along with your party will have your table for the duration of the booking.

A small table with around 4 chairs is exactly what we offer and what you are made aware of before your visit. The main benefit (especially on busy days) is the free and priority entrance you recieve for up to an hour for all of your guests.

We hope that this didn't put a dampener on your evening and you had a good night. There was a pretty special atmosphere in the venue last night, we had all 11 screens on so there really wasn't a space where you couldn't see the game!

We hope to see you again soon, Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst places I’ve ever been as the bouncer wouldn’t even let us in after have been to a gig before hand, judged us from head to toe because of what we was wearing(shirt and jeans) wouldn’t recommend to anyone unless you want to be offended.

Thank dave_slave3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy R, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey dave_slave3150,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We don't have any kind of dress code here at The Piano Works so it would seem unusual that our door team would not let you enter based on what you were wearing.

Our door team have a duty of care to all guests inside the venue and if they feel you are a bit too intoxicated you will be refused entrance.

Feel free to get in touch if you would like to discuss further.

Best wishes,
Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to watch Brasil vs Servia, a group of 10, spent 10£ just to get in.. spent 300£ on drinks went to take some friends back home and when i came back in my Uber i was blocked re entry at the venue.

Ridiculous.

Thank Mario N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy R, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Mario N,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We had a private promoter for the Brasil vs Serbia game hence the £10 entrance fee. This isn't something that is usually in place on a Wednesday and entrance is normally free Monday - Thursday.

As a venue we do not allow re admittance, this is explained to all guests when they leave the venue and there are signs placed at the entrance.

Best wishes,
Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had an absolutely superb night, would definitely recommend!

Had some trouble initially after being told the world cup wouldn't have sound while we were there and so the music would continue. Was later told this wasn't the case and was very disappointed and cross as I'd booked a big table for my 30th (and hate football!)

I complained and was told they'd compensate us with a free half bottle of wine per person which was great. On the night though they did so much more and our server, Lina was INCREDIBLE. She looked after us so well all night, bringing drinks, collecting our song requests, and just being so smiley and helpful; nothing was too much trouble. As extra they also gave us all free prosecco and a birthday cake shaped like a piano and reserved a booth for us for after the meal, again for free.

The band themselves are absolutely excellent and played everything so well, some very talented people there.

After the booking fail I wasn't expecting to give 5 stars at all but they absolutely earned it. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy R, Manager at The Piano Works, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Tiffany W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

We're sorry about the initial hiccup, we didn't realise there would be such a strong demand for the football and we're trying our best to please the football lovers and the music lovers.

It's great to hear that you were so well looked after and we could make your birthday a special one! We will most definitely pass your compliments and kind words over to Lina.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Daisy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had seen reviews before about aggressive bouncers and assumed it was just someone annoyed they got kicked out. Turns out I should of believed them....

All over a broken glass, my friend was pinned down on the ground being choked by 4 bouncers. Other people in the venue not part of our party thought it was so crazy they all filmed it and sent it over to us for evidence.

They removed my friend and were aggressive to he outside. My other friend tried to calm it down (most calm guy ever!) and he got punched in the face.

Such a shame because the venue is good but all the bouncers are violent

1  Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Piano Works also viewed

 

Been to The Piano Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing