We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blast to the Past!”
Review of Trader Vic's

Trader Vic's
Ranked #2,473 of 25,295 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: For a great exotic getaway, descend to the lower level of the London Hilton on Park Lane and discover the wonderful world of Trader Vic’s, which will transport you to a tropical escape.A voyage to Trader Vic’s will bring to you a magnificent array of delights and entertainment; be it from our bar concoctions and specialties or our restaurant delicacies.
Reviewed 31 May 2018

I lived for many decades in the San Francisco area and have eaten at the original Trader Vic's many times. While not known for "gourmet" food, the Polynesian food is very tasty and the atmosphere is wonderfully kitschy. So what a pleasant surprise to find an outpost of this venerable institution in London. Trader Vic's always provides and enjoyable night out with tasty appetizers and food and their fabulous Mai Tais. I have yet to find a bar anywhere that makes Mai Tais as delicious as they do.

Thank debkits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ParkLane, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha debkits

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent dining experience at Trader Vic's.

We love our Mai Tais and glad you love them to.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tropical shores again.

Kind regards,
Trader Vic`s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2018

Went there with a Groupon voucher. The cocktails were very nice, and very strong. The food was good, rather like an upmarket Chinese. Our waiter Chand was very informative and helpful. The only drawback, you cant help but feel the décor is so outdated it looked cheap. Even the chairs felt low. I would go back for the drinks and food, but will probably wait until its given a modern make over.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ParkLane, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha Paul S

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent dining experience at Trader Vic's.

Thank you for your feedback. Most of our decor is original from 1963 when we open all of it original wooden carvings - however I do agree and feel the chairs could be looked into. Thank you for your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tropical shores again.

Kind regards,
Trader Vic`s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We've tried TV's before and haven't raced to return. This place looks dated now - it sort of puts you in mind of a Rainforest Café or Disney dining place, but then has pricier food and quite posh nosh ! We as a couple were seated alongside a large table which soon held a family group including 4 kids, 2 of whom ran riot around us. Poor planning on the restaurant's part for how to locate people. The waiter was fairly matter of fact in his Hawaiian shirt. it just seemed an odd mix of theming which was a shame as my Malay beef curry was wonderful, as was my partner's fish. Grown up food but confused atmosphere.

Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ParkLane, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Aloha Karen&
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent dining experience at Trader Vic's.

Thank you for your feedback. Most of our decor is original from 1963 when we open all of it original wooden carvings - I can understand your points Rainforest Café or Disney. Will review the seating plan and decor to insure a less confusing experience is delivered in the future.

Thank you for your compliments about the food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tropical shores again.

Kind regards,
Trader Vic`s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This was the second time that we have visited trader Vic's and even though our previous visit was very good, this time it was far superior. The food was spectacular, the service was spot on and the atmosphere perfect. The Waiters even brought a special candle lit sweet for my wife on her Birthday ! Well worth going for a lovely meal ..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RIKHG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ParkLane, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Aloha Rikhg1!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent dining experience at Trader Vic's.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tropical shores again.

Kind regards,
Trader Vic`s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Went with a friend to celebrate her birthday on Monday night and from the moment we stepped into the restaurant we had a fabulous time. The décor was unusual, the food was seriously tasty and the service first class. All of the waiters were very friendly and helpful. We were served by Mehdi and Rene and they could not do more to pleased us.
So I would like to thanks everyone was a memorable evening. Hope to go back soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelesimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ParkLane, Manager at Trader Vic's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Aloha Michelesimpkins!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback of your recent dining experience at Trader Vic's.

Rene and Medhi are assets to the team and will pass your praise on them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our tropical shores again.

Kind regards,
Trader Vic`s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trader Vic's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Trader Vic's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing